Staff Picks

Staff Review
A boy, a goat and a chicken standing on a cliff before a Fairy tale tower

Kill the Farm Boy

By Delilah S. Dawson
3
Rated by Hilary S.
Sep 27, 2019

First, I must admit that I picked Kill the Farm Boy solely on its cover. I had no familiarity with either author before, nor had I read any reviews. I thought it looked like a fun and easy read, and that was exactly what I was in the mood for, so I tried it out. It is a lighthearted fantasy, packed in humor. But it's the type and quality of humor that makes this either a "love it" or "hate it" for many readers: poop jokes (lots of them), raunchy sex jokes and innuendo (lots of those, too).

Staff Review
Ask Again Yes book cover, view of a neighborhood and trees from high above

Ask Again, Yes

By Mary Beth Keane
4
Rated by Megan K.
Sep 25, 2019

Attempting to understand the human experience, and dealing with the aftermath of tragedy is something to which all people can relate. Mary Beth Keane’s novel Ask Again, Yes explores this phenomenon through the Gleeson and Stanhope families- neighbors in a suburb of New York City. The reader is introduced to the parents of both families at the beginning of the novel, and walks through life with their youngest children, Kate Gleeson and Peter Stanhope.

Staff Review Sep 22, 2019

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Duane Johnson has won our writing contest in the Open Category on the theme of A Universe of Stories with "One Small Step".

Staff Review
Tell the Machine Goodnight cover

Tell The Machine Goodnight

By Katie Williams
4
Rated by Jed D.
Sep 16, 2019

What if a machine could tell you how to be happy?  What if your results could be manipulated?  What if you had to do something illegal, immoral, or unethical to achieve happiness?  These are a few of the questions posed in the speculative fiction novel Tell the Machine Goodnight, by Katie Williams.  Set in 2035, our protagonist Pearl works for a Facebook or Google-like tech organization, Apricity, whose name means "the warmth of the sun during winter".  Businesses include Apricty readings as a benefit.

Staff Review Sep 15, 2019

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Brian Daldorph has won our writing contest in the Open category on the theme of A Universe of Stories with "Wasps".

Brian Daldorph teaches at the University of Kansas and Douglas County Jail. He edits Coal City Review.

Wasps

Staff Review Sep 12, 2019

Have you ever stumbled upon a book or movie that led you on a journey to a treasure trove of stories you would've otherwise missed? Let's just say what happens in Swedish film shouldn't stay in Sweden.

Staff Review
Four torn pieces of paper in the colors of yellow, green, red, and gray, taped together with the title in large black letters over the top

Only Child

By Navin, Rhiannon
5
Rated by Lisa H
Sep 11, 2019

Only Child by Rhiannon Navin, is narrated through the voice of Zach, a first grade boy who hides in a closet with his teacher and classmates while a lone gunman begins shooting people in his elementary school.  In the aftermath of the shooting, once 19 people are pronounced dead, we are taken through a captivating emotional journey, hearing not only Zach’s thoughts, but those overheard conversation

Staff Review Sep 10, 2019

How to Give Up Plastic: A Guide to Changing the World, One Plastic Bottle at a Time by Will McCallum is a scary, eye-opening, informative book that outlines the world’s use of plastics (which is in almost everything - including our clothing), the impact plastics are having on the environment, and suggestions to reduce the amount of plastic we use each day.

Staff Review Sep 9, 2019

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases this month at the Johnson County Library! Every month we look at five fiction titles making their debut that we think you absolutely need to know about. You might not find these books on the bestseller lists, but that's okay, as we love putting the spotlight on books you might not have heard about. Give one - or more - of these titles a chance to make it in your hold list. We hope you find something new!

Staff Review Aug 30, 2019

If you’ve missed out on what our staff have been reading, watching, or listening to, our Staff Picks Blog is a great place to catch up, and be sure to check in the catalog for the lists our staff have made – these lists consist of topics and genres linked together by a specific theme, so when you’re done with one book and you want to jump into something similar, we’ve got you covered.

Pages