Staff Picks

Staff Review Apr 5, 2019

"Never underestimate the power of nerds."  Self proclaimed nerd Mallory O'Meara pours her heart and three years of her life into The Lady From The Black Lagoon,  a biography to uncover the lost legacy of Milicent Patrick.  

Staff Review Apr 2, 2019

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases at the Johnson County Library! Each month we look at five fiction titles making their debut that we think you should know about. You might not find these books on the bestseller lists, but that's okay, as we love putting the spotlight on books you might not have heard about. Give one - or more - of these titles a chance to make it in your hold list. We hope you find something new!

Teen Staff Review Mar 25, 2019

An engrossing story narrated by a wonderfully entertaining, snarky protagonist.

Staff Review Feb 28, 2019

Eleanor Roosevelt served as her husband’s eyes and ears throughout his twelve years in office; she knew every corner of the United States from personal visits and meetings with locals without a cocoon of Secret Service protection. Starting in 1941, the very hands-on First Lady solved the personal problems of worried Americans while she traversed the continent. Ladies’ Home Journal included her first of several advice columns, entitled “If You Ask Me,” which shares both its name and content with this book.

Staff Review
The Woman in White (dvd)

The Woman in White (DVD)

By Wilkie Collins (novel) & Fiona Seres (screenplay)
4
Rated by Bet M
Feb 26, 2019

This 5-episode miniseries, featuring two memorable female leads, expertly tackled Wilkie Collins's 656-page suspense novel (published in 1860) and kept me on the edge of my seat even more than many a modern thriller.

Staff Review
Cover for Widows

Widows

By Steve McQueen
5
Rated by Zachary C
Feb 15, 2019

To call Widows a heist film is reductive.  It revolves around a heist, but that doesn't do the film justice.

Staff Review Feb 13, 2019

I'm going to start off with a confession: I have absolutely no talent as a baker or cook of any kind. At best I can boil water and at worst... well. Let's just say I have a bad habit of leaving out key ingredients and forgetting that I left food in the oven until the smoke alarm goes off. My completely inedible, rock-hard Rice Krispie treats are still something of a legend among my family.

Staff Review Feb 12, 2019

Have you watched Tidying Up on Netflix? Are you thinking about listening to Marie Kondo and her KonMari method? Do you want to get rid of some of your books and clear out the clutter? Don't worry, we won't judge you. The Johnson County Library houses the books so you don't have to. Since February is Declutter for a Cause month, let’s investigate where you can give your books a second life. If you want to donate books in the Johnson County area here are some places you can go. 

Friends of the Johnson County Library will accept: 

Staff Review Feb 12, 2019

It’s a little hard to miss all the pink and red hearts present in every retail space right now, the ads for sparkly jewelry, and displays of roses and flowers, but let’s take a few minutes to honor another February holiday: Galentine’s Day, which falls on the 13th of the month.

Staff Review
Cover image of The Lost Letter

The Lost Letter

By Jillian Cantor
4
Rated by Hannah Jane C.
Feb 11, 2019

The Lost Letter is an incredibly absorbing story that begins with a daughter who inherits her father’s stamp collection when he begins to lose his memory and goes into a nursing home. The daughter, Katie, has the stamp collection appraised, and an unusual stamp on an unopened letter is found in the collection.  An unopened letter! With this discovery, the author, Jillian Cantor, introduces the story of Kristoff, an apprentice of a Jewish stamp engraver, Frederick Faber, and Frederick’s family, all of whom live

Pages