Staff Picks

Staff Review Aug 4, 2018

In Paris in the late 1800s, with hypnotism as a popular form of entertainment, a strange murder case captivated the world. Gabrielle Bompard claims to have been hypnotized on numerous occasions since childhood, and everyone from her lovers to her family doctor concur that she is very susceptible to suggestion. When she is captured after having worked with Michel Eyraud, kills a man, and then lives on the run, her defense is that she can not be held responsible for her part in the crime, because, not only was the murder Eyraud's idea, but he had a hypnotic power over her, and she was not a w

Staff Review Aug 2, 2018

This is an absolutely fascinating book.

Walker starts with a question: What makes great sports teams great? He came up with a criteria and looked at the history of athletic teams--national and international, men's and women's, all varieties, so long as they were a cooperative venture--and identified the most dominant dynasties of their eras. He found 122 teams that met the basic criteria, then identified 16 that stood out as the best of the best. He dubbed the 16 as Tier One and the remaining 106 as Tier Two.

Then he looked at the 16 teams to see if he could identify anything they had in common as a shared secret of their success. He noticed that the span of success for one team coincided with the membership of a particular player. Then he looked at the others. [They] weren't the only team whose Tier One performance corresponded in some way to the arrival and departure of one particular player. In fact, they all did. And with an eerie regularity that person was, or would eventually become, the captain. The more he looked, the more he found similarities between all of those figures, until he eventually had to conclude that the most crucial ingredient in a team that achieves and sustains historic greatness is the character of the player who leads it.

Staff Review Jul 31, 2018

I absolutely love this book and consider it one of my "top 10" favorites! I did not expect to like it when a friend lent me her copy to read, but it blew me away. 

Teen Staff Review
Book cover

The 57 Bus

By Dashka Slater
5
Rated by Chris K.
Jul 23, 2018

What labels define you? Which boxes contain you? No middle ground. No grey. Keep it simple. Describe yourself with categories. Binaries. Either-ors. Extremes.

Once you tell me, do I know you?

Or do you want to say, "Wait, that's not really me. I'm much more complicated and nuanced than that. Those are mere ideas. I'm a person."?

Staff Review Jul 18, 2018

This isn't going to be a review, so much as an essay on my journey into the world of Dungeons & Dragons and general Role Playing Games (RPG) starting in my late 20's, so strap on your sword and buckler and get ready for an adventure!

 

Staff Review Jul 17, 2018

Before I say anything else, I just want to say, without qualifications, that I had a lot of fun playing this game.

Staff Review
Book Cover of Virgin by Analicia Sotelo is hot pink, with a woman with her back turned,

Virgin

By Analicia Sotelo
5
Rated by Emma F.
Jul 15, 2018

"We're all performing our bruises"

Staff Review Jul 13, 2018

In 78 short pages, Klein explains the challenges facing Puerto Ricans before, during, and after Hurricane Maria. We know from spotty news coverage that many are still without power and water, but Klein presents the even bigger threat posed by billionaires that want to turn Puerto Rico into a tax haven paradise. Complete with surfing and support from local government officials.

Staff Review
Red Land, Black Land

Red Land, Black Land

By Barbara Mertz
4
Rated by Sam S.
Jul 12, 2018

Red Land Black Land is a historical exploration of ancient Egyptian civilizations that discusses religion, rulers, and artifacts, but also focuses on the daily lives and experiences of ancient Egyptians – peasants and pharaohs alike. Some of the topics I found most interesting centered on the smaller details of life, like how people viewed pets, how clothing was made, what foods were popular, and what people did in their spare time. 

Staff Review Jul 11, 2018

In the introduction to Weaponized Lies, Levitin states, “Critical thinking doesn't mean we disparage everything; it means that we try to distinguish between claims with evidence and those without.” He goes on to explain that because we are constantly bombarded with information to the point of overload, we must do some research to uncover the facts. It can even be difficult to determine which sources are reliable. “Just because someone quotes you a statistic or shows you a graph, it doesn’t mean it’s relevant.”

Pages