Book

Just Ella

Just Ella

Margaret Peterson Haddix
4
Rated by
Anne G
Monday, Oct 21, 2019

“Why did everyone like that story so much when it wasn’t true? Why was everyone so eager to believe it? Was it because, in real life, ever after’s generally stink?”

Black background with white fish hook

Hook: A Memoir

Randall Horton
5
Rated by
Lisa A.
Friday, Oct 18, 2019

“We script our lives on reaction rather than action, meaning daily life is always in response to, or a reply to, a command or demand. The world uses us in that way...The world does this--holds us down.”― Randall Horton, Hook: A Memoir

The Grief Keeper cover

The Grief Keeper

Villasante, Alexandra
4
Thursday, Oct 17, 2019

The Grief Keeper tells the story of a young girl named Marisol who is trying to immigrate with her younger sister to America after the murder of their brother. She is caught crossing the border and told she must participate in an experimental study, or be sent back home to El Salvador. As part of the study, Marisol becomes a grief keeper, taking upon the grief of Rey, a young woman struggling with mental illness, to ensure she can stay in the country.

The most compelling aspect of the book, in my opinion, was Marisol coming to terms with her sexuality. Throughout the book, Marisol...

book cover

Waking Up

Sam Harris
4
Rated by
Michelle H.
Wednesday, Oct 16, 2019

Waking Up is a firsthand account of a scientist using his own mind to respond to the question, "what is the nature of awareness?" It’s great reading, has lots of level headed advice, and looks squarely at a question with a bias against it so strong there isn’t another book out there like it. The subject of consciousness is usually handled in one of two ways, either with no use of the intellect or with a skepticism so strong exploration into the topic never even occurs.

Wild and Crooked cover

Wild and Crooked

Thomas, Leah
5
Tuesday, Oct 15, 2019

The book switches between perspectives of two different, yet alike, characters forcing you to look at the situation from multiple perspectives. It is a book dedicated to those who are often pushed to the side in today’s world, and shows that we are all more alike than one might think, and that you should not judge others based on only what you’ve heard.

The most compelling aspect of the book to me was the underlying mystery mixed with the two teens who were drawn to each other. As they were learning about one another, one was very truthful, while the other claimed to be deceitful- ...

Cover image of the book Toil & Trouble

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe
5
Rated by
Hebah A.H.
Monday, Oct 14, 2019

It's that time of year where my reading generally turns to the spookier side, and there's no paranormal motif I love more than witchy women. Fiction has definitely seen an uptick in feminist reclamations of witchy tropes and depictions in recent years, and I am here for it.

A Hero Born by Jin Yong

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
5
Rated by
Andrew P
Friday, Oct 11, 2019

Touted as a Chinese Lord of the Rings, Jin Yong's A Hero Born, makes it's debut English translation. This story follows Guo Jing who was born during the Song empire. After his father, a Song Patriot, is murdered, he is taken up into the Mongolian steppes. There he is raised in Genghis Kahn's army before meeting The Seven Heroes of the South who tell him he is fated to fight in a competition to determine who is the greatest master.

Wednesday, Oct 9, 2019

“Every ten years or so, I either go back to therapy or I write a book in order to tell myself again, in a new way, my life story. This current version is death heavy, feminism heavy, whale heavy, but also multilayered, even multigenerational. I’m not only fifty-six but also seven, twelve, twenty-seven, thirty-four, and forty-eight. My story is like a choral piece with many different parts.

Yellow sky with purple mountains underneath and green grassy meadow in the foreground. Author's name is in purple letters and overlayed over yellow sky. Title of book is in white letters on top of the green meadow.

The Giver of Stars

Moyes, Jojo
5
Rated by
Lisa H
Monday, Oct 7, 2019

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes is historical fiction at its very best! Set in 1939 Southern Kentucky, the lives of five strong female characters come together to form and operate the Packhorse Library, where they deliver by horseback, books, magazines and newspapers to those living in remote, rural areas.

Frankly in Love Cover

Frankly in Love

Yoon, David
4
Monday, Oct 7, 2019

Frank Li lives with his Korean-immigrant parents in California, growing up with American culture and feeling like his parents don't understand. As he starts to fall for Brit Means, a white girl his parents would never approve of him dating, Frank pretends to date Joy Song, a family friend who is in the same situation. But everything Frank knows about his life is much more complicated than it seems, especially high school dating.

I think the most compelling aspect of the book is that it's not just filled with love and romance, but navigating that romance for the first time. In most...

Pages