Audiobook

Becoming

By Michelle Obama
5
Rated by admin
Apr 29, 2020

Friends, I’m so excited! Michelle Obama’s documentary, based on the memoir Becoming, is coming soon to Netflix. Read more:


Netflix & Higher Ground Productions Announce Original Documentary "Becoming"


From the post, my emphasis in bold:


A NOTE FROM MICHELLE OBAMA:


I’m excited to let you know that on May 6, Netflix will release BECOMING, a documentary film directed by Nadia Hallgren that looks at my life and the experiences I had while touring following the release of my memoir…


…Even as we can no longer safely gather or feed off the energy of groups, even as many of us are

The Way of Kings

By Brandon Sanderson
5
Rated by admin
Mar 4, 2020

 


Ah, the one and only Brandon Sanderson. If you are a fan of high fantasy you are probably familiar with his works and can reminisce on the first Sanderson book you experienced. I say experienced- not read- because working the way through a Sanderson novel alongside his characters is an adventure. I started digging into Sanderson’s works with the Mistborn trilogy, which I highly recommend. The trilogy is a great introduction to Brandon Sanderson’s works as it is shorter, but still provides that intricate worldbuilding and thought provoking storytelling for which he is so well known. Since

Orange is the New Black

By Piper Kerman
5
Rated by Megan K.
Dec 6, 2019

Many of you may be familiar with Piper Kerman’s story but I’ll give you a quick summary: in 1993, 24 year old Piper smuggled money for her then-girlfriend who was involved in an international drug ring. Following the money smuggling incident, she cut off all ties to the people involved and got started on a new life. However, her past caught up to her and Piper was indicted for her involvement in 1998. Six years later, in 2004, she was sent to Danbury, a minimum-security facility to serve 15 months. Piper ended up serving 13 months, and detailed her experience in this book.


It is important

Scarlet

By Marissa Meyer
5
Rated by Megan K.
Oct 8, 2019

The second book in the Lunar Chronicles, Scarlet, is a take on the well known tale of Little Red Riding Hood. The main character and namesake of this second installment of The Lunar Chronicles is Scarlet, a farm girl on the outskirts of a small French town. Caution: some unintentional spoilers may be in the full review.

Aug 29, 2018

Fannie Flagg's The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion CD-Audio read by the author


I really enjoyed listening to Fannie Flagg read. She had the perfect accent to tell this story about the history of some women working during WWII as pilots. I was not aware they even existed. I had never heard about them in any history class that I took.


The book begins with an older southern woman, living in Point Clear, Alabama, named Sookie Poole that finds out by accident that she is adopted. Sookies’ children are grown and married so she has the time to search for her background. As Sookie looks

The Gospel of Loki

By Joanne Harris
4
Rated by Dylan R
Aug 11, 2018

For many readers, Joanne Harris will forever be known as the author who brought them the delectable Chocolat. They'd likely be as shocked as I was to discover this gem from Harris, a collection of Norse myths all written from the perspective of the diabolical Loki!


(Sorry, Loki . . . I just couldn't resist!)


Anyway, The Gospel of Loki offers a chronological look at Loki's existence following his initial meeting with the Aesir, the Norse gods of Asgard. Obviously, as far as narrators go, Loki is about as unreliable as one gets. However, the strength of this book--aside from the stories

Jun 20, 2018

We've all heard the phrase, "I'll sleep when I'm dead," but Why We Sleep shines much-needed light on not only the benefits of slumber, but also the dire--and sometimes fatal--consequences of avoiding it.


As with many who have read this book, I first heard Dr. Walker on the wonderful, multi-faceted, Joe Rogan Experience podcast. If Walker's revelatory words in that interview were such to pique my curiosity, his book was enough to make me a determined, devoted acolyte. Why We Sleep contains information on scientific studies, personal experiences, and keen observation on our current society's

Jun 12, 2018

Picking up right where Star Wars, the Force Awakens' story left off, The Last Jedi continues the adventures of Rey, Finn, and Poe following their triumph over the First Order forces on Starkiller Base. Though the Resistance scored a huge victory, we are still faced with many questions: How can the Resistance possibly hope to stand against such an obviously superior foe? Will the now-located Luke Skywalker come out of hiding to save the galaxy?


Oh, and just who is this last Jedi, anyway?


Spoilers ahead!


Although audiences are understandably split in their reaction to The Last Jedi as a

Hillbilly Elegy : A Memoir

By J.D. Vance
4
Rated by Amanda C.
May 26, 2018

Hillbilly Elegy is unlike anything I've ever listened to. J.D. Vance grew up in the rust belt of America and was the first from his nuclear family to graduate from college. He speaks about growing up there and tells you extensively about the journey his family (grandparents and mother) made before today. 


He details some gritty stuff like an alcoholic grandfather and an abusive mom. I congratulate Vance for working so hard to create something for himself despite coming from a family that was torn apart by some challenging circumstances and, at the same time, held together by a grandparents'

Ready Player One

By Ernest Cline
4
Rated by Dylan R
Apr 11, 2018

Functioning as both a seminal look into pop culture's past as well as a fun, technological romp, Ready Player One is a fantastic tale centered around Wade Watts, a teenager and dedicated gamer in the year 2044. Having almost no family, few friends, and seemingly even fewer avenues open to him to escape his downtrodden existence, Wade has had a difficult life, to say the least. However, what Wade does have is access to the OASIS; a cyber-reality which will change his life forever.


An astonishing facet of Ready Player One is its prescience: Cline's great, sprawling work was published in 2011

House of Names

By Colm Toibin
5
Rated by Cheryl M.
Mar 23, 2018

In a word -- Wow! Clytemnestra opens the downloadable audiobook House of Names with: "I have been acquainted with the smell of death. The sickly, sugary smell that wafted in the wind towards the rooms in this palace." I was immediately drawn into Clytemnestra's narrative. Based on the ancient Greek tale of the House of Atreus as outlined by the tragedians Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, Colm Toibin's re-imagining does not disappoint. The tension is held throughout the entire story by the three narrators: Juliet Stevenson as Clytemnestra; Charlie Anson, as her son Orestes; and Pippa Nixon

Feb 20, 2018

After writing about the struggles of Gen X and Millennials in 2006's Generation Me, and the rise of society-wide obsession with self in 2009's Narcissism Epidemic, Dr. Twenge then set her sights on a new, decidedly different, group of young people.


A fitting moniker for those born from the mid-1990s to 2000s, "iGen"-- a term coined by the author, herself -- refers to a generation which has never known a world without the personal technology that has rapidly become a large part of our lives. A researcher with over two decades of experience, Twenge's work in iGen seeks to not only examine and

Long Way Down

By Jason Reynolds
5
Rated by Chris K.
Feb 15, 2018

Will knows one way to grieve, dictated by the rules passed down for generations: no crying; no snitching; always get revenge. His uncle and father have already been victim to the cyclic system created by these rules, and last night his brother joined them. Will is desperately heartbroken, so he follows the one path given him by the rules: he grabs his brother's gun and heads for the elevator.


And that's where his story takes an unexpected turn. He has to go down seven floors, and the elevator stops at each of them to let on another passenger. Each passenger is someone dead from Will's life

Echo

By Pam Muñoz Ryan
5
Rated by Emily D.
Nov 29, 2017

Echo follows the stories of Otto, Friedrich, Mike, Ivy, and the mysterious harmonica that ties them together! The magical thread of music carries you through this wonderful tale. Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California are all dealing with the wrath of a war that tore countries and families apart. Friedrich is living with a birthmark that Hitler deems unsuitable, Mike will do anything to keep him and his brother together, and Ivy is learning that prejudice in America affects even the innocent. But they all find solace in music. With the help of the harmonica, someone

IT (CD Audio)

By Stephen King
5
Rated by Melody M.K.
Nov 21, 2017

An eternal entity that goes into a sort of hibernation comes back every 27 years, feeding on the fears of children and creating all sorts of chaos in the town of Derry, Maine. The book IT is divided into five parts, moving from the summer of 1958 to 1985.


In the summer of 1958 Georgie, Bill's little brother, goes out to sail a paper boat and is the first to meet the entity during this visit. It does not end well for Georgie.  Bill and a group of other eleven-year-olds then get tangled up in the horror in Derry. They give the entity the name IT and themselves the name The Losers Club. After

On Turpentine Lane

By Elinor Lipman
4
Rated by Rachel N.
Nov 8, 2017

On Turpentine Lane is purely entertainment. I was hooked from the beginning when Faith decides to buy a cute little house with 1950's decor . . . sans her fiancé or any idea of who had lived there previously. Both are signs that something isn't right. We soon learn about Faith's fiancé, Stuart, and his decision to walk across the country to find himself. One of my favorite parts is Faith reminiscing about her engagement to Stuart and the red string she wears as a ring. I found the characters to be interesting, sometimes bordering on extremely quirky, but fairly humorous. The story offers

Heroes Are My Weakness (Audiobook)

By Susan Elizabeth Phillips
5
Rated by Amanda H.
Oct 15, 2017

I put off reading Heroes Are My Weakness for a long time. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is one of my favorite authors, and for years her contemporaries were the only time I ventured outside of historical romances, but this gothic-inspired standalone got lackluster reviews when it first came out and many fans lamented its darker tone compared to her usual zany, fun style. Once I started it in preparation for listening to her next book, though, I found the same spirit of ridonkulous humor, addictive storytelling, and endearing characters that I love about all her books.


Annie Hewitt is a down-on

Oct 9, 2017

Patton Oswalt sometimes serves as my spirit guide. That might be a function of my desire to put all of my useless pop culture knowledge to good use and get paid for it. Which is not to say that I think Patton's job is simply goofing on George Lucas or drawing parallels between his chronic depression and the Mad Max film series. Like all effective comedians, he presents his often insightful and unique views on the world with remarkable timing and a memorable delivery. To that end, I sometimes forget that those jokes must be written and not simply spat at the audience in an impromptu diatribe.

Oct 8, 2017

As Animal, Vegetable, Miracle celebrates its 10th year of being published, I decided to finally give it a try.


Much of what the Kingsolvers put forth about the food industry still rings true. 


It was fascinating to hear about the decisions for choosing to only consume food that they are in direct contact with, whether growing it themselves or knowing its origins. This leads to some interesting situations: what do you do when you invite 150 friends and family to your house to celebrate a birthday? How do you make food that you have in abundance during the summer last the whole year? 


T

Maul Lockdown

By Joe Schreiber
5
Rated by Dylan R
Sep 15, 2017

Ah, a story featuring the scary-looking, staff-sabered Sith apprentice, Darth Maul! If you are reading this review, you've most likely seen Star Wars Episode One: The Phantom Menace, so you'll no doubt recall Maul as the strong, silent type. Admittedly, I was more than a tad hesitant upon embarking on this book's voyage. Does Maul speak at all? What if entire conversations held with Maul only involve him snarling at people before attacking them with that crazy-cool light saber? My goodness, why am I actually reading this via audio book, of all things?


Well, let me tell you, I was more than

Britt-Marie Was Here

By Fredrik Backman
5
Rated by Emily D.
Aug 16, 2017

Britt-Marie is reasonable, punctual, and practical, thank you very much. The best life lived is one of order, no shenanigans necessary. But recently sixty-three year old Britt-Marie has had to make some changes in her life. She's walked out of her loveless marriage and found herself a temp job in Borg, a decrepit town ruined by the financial crisis.


Britt-Marie becomes the coach of the local kids soccer team, quite by accident. She doesn't really know how to coach, but at least they will have clean uniforms. Since her arrival, the rec center has never been cleaner; and the resident rat

Virgin River

By Robyn Carr
4
Rated by Traci M.
Jul 30, 2017

I am a re-reader. Whether I’m in a reading funk, or waiting for an author’s new release, I would rather pick up a book I’ve read before than take a chance on something new. I don’t know if it’s the comfort of knowing what’s going to happen or the chance to revisit favorite characters that appeals to me, but this habit tends to get me in trouble when I’m trying to weed my book collection.


I recently read an article on re-reading that suggested listening to the audio version of a book you previously read. I’ve never been a big audio listener, especially in fiction, so I decided to give it a

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

By Stieg Larsson
5
Rated by Amanda C.
Jul 17, 2017

Mikael Blomkvist is an investigative reporter and co-owner of a magazine, Millennium, in Stockholm, Sweden. A bygone behemoth of Swedish industry hires him to solve the 36-year-old mysterious disappearance of Harriet Vanger. Lisbeth Salander is the 24-year-old genius computer hacker (complete with tattoos, piercings, and black lipstick) who aids Mikael in his search for the answers. In uncovering what happened to Harriet, they discover a much bigger secret in Sweden.


This story is well-written and creative. Stieg Larsson creates a world where everything is possible and nothing is

The Couple Next Door

By Shari Lapeña
4
Rated by Roxanne B.
Jul 13, 2017

At first glance, Anne and Marco Conti live a charmed life. They have an adored baby girl, a comfortable home, friends next door, and the support of Anne’s wealthy parents. This illusion is peeled away piece by piece as the story unfolds. While Anne and Marco are at their neighbor’s dinner party, their daughter disappears from her crib. Who is responsible for the kidnapping? Why did they leave their baby alone? Is the couple next door involved?


Anne and Marco seem devastated and guilt-ridden. The detective in charge is determined to find out what happened, and it is evident that Anne and

May 28, 2017

Deep in debt and seeking a major change in her life, author Elizabeth Greenwood becomes infatuated with the idea of faking her own death. Couldn't she just "die," and walk away from her student loans, her life, and her problems? Instead of actually committing pseudocide, as it's known, she delves into researching the idea instead, and the result is Playing Dead: A Journey through the World of Death Fraud.


First Greenwood interviews several private investigators and privacy experts about whether it's even possible to disappear completely in the information age, when so much about our lives

A Room with a View

By E.M. Forster
4
Rated by Heather B.
May 13, 2017

I'm a regular reader of classic literature, and I've enjoyed Merchant-Ivory films based on E.M. Forster novels in the past, so I'm not sure why I had the impression that his work was stuffy. Imagine my surprise when I found myself laughing out loud while listening to the audiobook of A Room with a View--and actually describing it repeatedly to one of my friends as "hilarious." 


In the first half of the novel, Lucy and her Aunt Charlotte are visiting Florence, and their lives unwittingly become entangled with those of their fellow English travelers, particularly an unconventional father and

May 11, 2017

One day, Ben’s parents soon after the police have come looking for them and rush him and his sister into the car. They say they are going on vacation, but his family never goes on vacation. Soon after, they lose the police in a car chase and they find themselves in a remote cabin in the woods. He soon discovers his parents’ secret, they took the millions of dollars accidentally deposited into their bank account and ran. He is not sure whether to think his parents are criminals, and is he one for running off with them?


A fast-paced read with heart-stopping action, this is a really enjoyable

The Boston Girl

By Anita Diamant
4
Rated by Hannah Jane C.
Feb 3, 2017

The Boston Girl is told by 85-year-old Addie, who revisits her long life of memories during an interview given by one of her grandchildren.  It’s an incredibly intimate one-sided conversation that completely ensnares the reader.  This storytelling style made me feel as if Addie was my grandmother.  Like other special books with superb storytelling, The Boston Girl envelopes the reader inside a bubble.  While reading it, you feel like you are living the story and your real life is just an inconvenience that exists outside of the bubble. 


Addie Baum is both fiercely independent and

The Thirteenth Tale

By Diane Setterfield
4
Rated by Emily D.
Feb 1, 2017

Wanna hear a ghost story? A fabulous tale about sisters, secrets, family, fire, death, and ghosts?


I'm not usually a fan of scary or horror stories, but The Thirteenth Tale is a mystery with many twists and turns that I find quite intriguing and just a little spooky. Follow biographer Margaret Lea as she discovers the true past of reclusive author Vida Winter. Piece together the hints and secrets as she reveals her extraordinary existence. Is Vida Winter who she says she is? Who set fire to the house? Is there really a ghost?


Notes: I listened to this book and the narration is very well

Dec 17, 2016

Margee Kerr, author of Scream: Chilling Adventures in the Science of Fear, and also the reader of the audiobook, is a sociologist who studies fear. Using herself as a guinea pig, and taking part in activities as varied as riding roller coasters, walking through haunted houses, taking part in paranormal investigations, and visiting Japan's notorious "suicide forest," Kerr explains what happens to the body and the mind when we take part in scary activities, or daredevil adventures. She also explores the psychology of thrill-seeking--why do some people seek out experiences many others regard as