baking

Jan 19, 2022

In this twisted fairy tale, Marissa Meyer reveals the backstory of the Queen of Hearts in her book Heartless. Set in Wonderland, main character Catherine must decide what life she wishes to lead. Catherine is the daughter of a Marquess, however, she wishes she could own a bakery with her maid Mary Ann. Unfortunately, her societal role prevents this career and her parents wish for her to marry the King. Her life is turned around when she meets the court jester and must choose if she wants to be the perfect daughter or choose the path that makes her happy.


I enjoyed reading this book because

Nov 18, 2021

17-year-old Syd works in a bakery while struggling with the aftermath of a breakup. When baking brownies, Syd discovers that they can bake their feelings into sweets. When Syd’s brownies end up breaking up the relationship of whoever eats them, Syd tries to fix the problem by baking sweets with good feelings. Can Syd fix the broken relationships? Read more to find out!


I really liked how this book has diverse and relatable characters. This book is perfect for those looking for books with themes of inclusion and heartfelt romance. I really enjoyed the writing of both the story and the

Nov 18, 2021

Peyton Sinclaire is a chef with big dreams stuck in a small town. When she gets the chance to participate in a reality tv cooking show, she jumps at the chance, hoping to pursue her dream. When she is at the set, she realizes it isn’t what she hoped it would be like, she wonders how far she is willing to go to make her dreams a reality.


I really enjoyed this book; I think that that book has a nice storyline that grabs the attention of readers and makes it hard for them to put the book down. I think that Peyton is a character that is inspiring to others and shows how it can be possible for

Oct 21, 2021

In a world full of powerful wizards, lives 14 year old Mona. Mona is a wizard, but she isn’t an all mighty one, she has to power to make magical bread. All’s well in Mona’s life until she suddenly finds a dead body on the floor of her aunt’s bakery. She soon finds out that an assassin is roaming her city, and she’s the next of his prey. This book is like taking a deep breath of fresh air. I was hooked onto every page while reading this book. I enjoyed living vicariously through Mona and her gingerbread familiar, Bob. The personalities of the characters were unique and fitting for their roles

Apr 29, 2020

I'm going to start off with a confession: I have absolutely no talent as a baker or cook of any kind. At best I can boil water and at worst... well. Let's just say I have a bad habit of leaving out key ingredients and forgetting that I left food in the oven until the smoke alarm goes off. My completely inedible, rock-hard Rice Krispie treats are still something of a legend among my family.


One of my New Year's resolutions, however, is to get more comfortable in the kitchen. So this week I decided to try something that terrifies me (and my entire family) - baking my very first pie. When I

Aug 14, 2016

Fans of Mary Berry, Paul Hollywood and all of the season 5 contestants will enjoy the “bakes” outlined in this photo-filled cookbook. The Great British Bake Off Big Book of Baking will show you, step-by-step, how to make the breads, pastries, biscuits, and cakes from the show, including some of the showstoppers and signature bakes. In between the recipes are short interviews with the contestants, hosts, and judges. It appears that the recipes have been modified to be easier, since they were under a huge time crunch while baking on the show. Also of note is that many of these recipes use

The Bread Bible

By Beth Hensperger
4
Rated by Sam S.
Jul 17, 2016

Titling anything the "bible" of its subject is long overdone--in fact, we have several "bread bibles" in our collection--but I'm in the market for what this book claims to be: a reliable, go-to recipe book for all things bread. The introduction has several overarching tips on bread making, including instructions on the basics of bread, different methods of mixing a variety of doughs, an analysis of each basic ingredient and what role it plays in the process, and some in-depth explanations behind the science of bread. I found this section very useful, and read it in its entirety. Several things

Feb 22, 2011

Being a public librarian with access to an unending supply of books, it takes something really special to make me want to part with $27.00 just so I can call it my own. Ruhlman has found the secret in Ratio and my copy should be in my mailbox by tomorrow. It's a weird format for a cookbook in that Ruhlman buries his recipes in parts or chapters that explain the basic ratios for, for instance, doughs and batters. By explaining the how and why of the most basic dough, Ruhlman opens up doors for experimentation and adventure, over the execution of a perfect recipe. After reading part one, I made

Dec 1, 2010

index2.jpg“Betty Crocker’s Just cupcakes: 100 Recipes for the Way You Really Cook” has an eye catching cover with baking and decorating ideas for every holiday or just because you want to make them. Most of all each page lists how long it will take to create these delicious bits down to the very minute. It includes 160 colorful pages and great ideas in this hardcover-spiral book. The step by step page turner is quick and easy to use. They have a nifty page on Halloween designs on pages 98-103 and one of my favorites is the Reindeer cupcakes. My family and I added the pretzels for the antlers, mini