Staff Picks

Staff Review Sep 10, 2018

Hi. My name is Hebah. I’m a giant nerd. I don’t just read genre fiction shamelessly; I also attend conventions dedicated to them. And yeah, going to a ComicCon isn’t really a big deal anymore, but I go to sci fi cons, which is probably a couple steps further along the grand scale of nerddom. This year, I attended WorldCon, or the World Science Fiction Convention, a science fiction and fantasy convention established in 1939.

Staff Review Sep 10, 2018

Hello and welcome to this month’s look at new releases at Johnson County Library, where we look at five fiction books hitting shelves this month that we think you should know about. You might not find these books at the top of the bestseller lists. It’s not that we don’t like books on the bestseller lists – we do! – but those authors are likely those who you’ve already heard of. We love spotlighting books and authors that you might not be familiar with. So let’s get started!

Staff Review
This is a picture of the cover of Renegades by Marissa Meyer.

Renegades

By Marissa Meyer
5
Rated by Shannon G
Sep 8, 2018

If you enjoy retellings of traditional stories, Marissa Meyer is for you! Heroes and villains are not what they seem in this fantasy story. Nova is a villain seeking vengeance against the (mostly) beloved Renegades, but as she grows closer to one Renegade in particular, the lines begin to blur. I found myself wanting to root for both heroes and villains. It's fast-paced and action-packed. 

Staff Review
Kayla Wiltfong

Music Writing Contest Winner

By Kayla Wiltfong
5
Rated by Helen H.
Sep 6, 2018

Johnson County Library and The Writers Place are pleased to announce that Kayla Wiltfong has won the open category of our writing contest on the theme of MUSIC with "From the Joint".

Staff Review
close up of a woman's face

Cop Town

By Karin Slaughter
4
Rated by Hilary S.
Sep 4, 2018

Cop Town is set in 1974 Atlanta. There aren't a lot of women on the police force, and for those that are, things aren't always what they hoped. The only female detectives are used as under-cover prostitutes to catch perps, and the rest of the women are denigrated and harassed to no end.

Staff Review
Underground train tunnel

I See You

By Clare Mackintosh
3
Rated by Jackie S.
Aug 31, 2018

I See You is a psychological thriller about Zoe Walker, who, while commuting to work on the train, sees a picture of herself in a classified ad in a newspaper. Knowing she did not place the ad, Zoe becomes paranoid and hyper-vigilant on her way to and from work. After noticing her own picture, Zoe begins looking at the ads more closely, and believes there is a connection between the women featured and the same women being victims of recent crimes.

Staff Review Aug 29, 2018

Fannie Flagg's The All-Girl Filling Station's Last Reunion CD-Audio read by the author

I really enjoyed listening to Fannie Flagg read. She had the perfect accent to tell this story about the history of some women working during WWII as pilots. I was not aware they even existed. I had never heard about them in any history class that I took.

Staff Review
Nefertiti

Nefertiti

By Michelle Moran
4
Rated by Sam S.
Aug 27, 2018

Nefertiti follows the titular character through the eyes of her sister, Mutnodjmet, from their early life through Nefertiti's swift ascent to the throne as one of history’s most powerful women. Headstrong, cunning, and limitlessly ambitious – Nefertiti defies tradition to become Egypt's first female co-regents during one of its most tumultuous and unique periods, with Mutnodjmet as her near-constant, often reluctant companion and advisor.

Staff Review Aug 24, 2018

Knit Yourself Calm is perfect for beginning knitters. It has clear instructions with a concise list of all the materials you need.

Betsan Corkhill, a healthcare professional that has been working with people and helping them relieve stress through knitting and crocheting since 2005, writes the forward. 

Staff Review
Book cover

An Unkindness of Ghosts

By Rivers Solomon
5
Rated by Chris K.
Aug 22, 2018

I give An Unkindness of Ghosts a clear 5 stars for characters, worldbuilding, and social commentary. I would go with 4 stars for plotting and pacing. Though it certainly doesn't lack for excitement and intrigue, it reads a bit episodically, with an underlying emphasis on each episode illustrating an experience more than carefully crafting a narrative. But what they illustrate is powerful and significant.

Pages