Staff Picks

Staff Review
book cover

Waking Up

By Sam Harris
4
Rated by Michelle H.
Oct 16, 2019

Waking Up is a firsthand account of a scientist using his own mind to respond to the question, "what is the nature of awareness?"  It’s great reading, has lots of level headed advice, and looks squarely at a question with a bias against it so strong there isn’t another book out there like it. The subject of consciousness is usually handled in one of two ways, either with no use of the intellect or with a skepticism so strong exploration into the topic never even occurs.

Staff Review
Cover image of the book Toil & Trouble

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

By Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe
5
Rated by Hebah A.H.
Oct 14, 2019

It's that time of year where my reading generally turns to the spookier side, and there's no paranormal motif I love more than witchy women. Fiction has definitely seen an uptick in feminist reclamations of witchy tropes and depictions in recent years, and I am here for it.

Staff Review
A Hero Born by Jin Yong

A Hero Born

By Jin Yong
5
Rated by Andrew P
Oct 11, 2019

Touted as a Chinese Lord of the Rings, Jin Yong's A Hero Born, makes it's debut English translation. This story follows Guo Jing who was born during the Song empire. After his father, a Song Patriot, is murdered, he is taken up into the Mongolian steppes. There he is raised in Genghis Kahn's army before meeting The Seven Heroes of the South who tell him he is fated to fight in a competition to determine who is the greatest master.

Staff Review Oct 10, 2019

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases this month at the Johnson County Library! Every month we look at five fiction titles making their debut that we think you absolutely need to know about. Give one - or more - of these titles a chance to make it in your hold list. We hope you find something new!

Staff Review Oct 9, 2019

“Every ten years or so, I either go back to therapy or I write a book in order to tell myself again, in a new way, my life story. This current version is death heavy, feminism heavy, whale heavy, but also multilayered, even multigenerational. I’m not only fifty-six but also seven, twelve, twenty-seven, thirty-four, and forty-eight. My story is like a choral piece with many different parts.

Staff Review
Kara Danvers (Supergirl) flying above the clouds

Supergirl: Being Super

By Mariko Tamaki
5
Rated by Anne G
Oct 9, 2019

In Supergirl: Being Super Canadian author Ms.

Staff Review
Scarlet book cover shows a red cape blowing in the wind

Scarlet

By Marissa Meyer
5
Rated by Megan K.
Oct 8, 2019

The second book in the Lunar Chronicles, Scarlet, is a take on the well known tale of Little Red Riding Hood. The main character and namesake of this second installment of The Lunar Chronicles is Scarlet, a farm girl on the outskirts of a small French town. Caution: some unintentional spoilers may be in the full review.

Staff Review
Yellow sky with purple mountains underneath and green grassy meadow in the foreground. Author's name is in purple letters and overlayed over yellow sky. Title of book is in white letters on top of the green meadow.

The Giver of Stars

By Moyes, Jojo
5
Rated by Lisa H
Oct 7, 2019

The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes is historical fiction at its very best!  Set in 1939 Southern Kentucky, the lives of five strong female characters come together to form and operate the Packhorse Library, where they deliver by horseback, books, magazines and newspapers to those living in remote, rural areas.

Staff Review Oct 2, 2019

Let Your Body Interpret Your Dreams isn’t going to help you interpret your dreams quickly, but it will help you interpret them correctly. Eugene Gendlin’s technique is simple. You’ve got to feel something rather than think it. And while Gendlin does recommend a popular technique – working with others to free associate meanings so as to stumble upon one that resonates—he’s clear about the limits of this technique. The intellect is a slow tool, and language can’t reliably access dream meaning.

Staff Review Oct 2, 2019

If you’ve ever wondered what our staff have been reading, watching, or listening to, our Staff Picks Blog is a great place to catch up. Also, if you're browsing for books in our Bibliocommons catalog, be sure to check out the lists our staff have made – these lists consist of topics and genres linked together by a specific theme, so when you’re done with one book and you want to jump into something similar, we’ve got you covered.

Pages