Staff Picks

Staff Review Jul 17, 2018

Before I say anything else, I just want to say, without qualifications, that I had a lot of fun playing this game.

Staff Review
Book Cover of Virgin by Analicia Sotelo is hot pink, with a woman with her back turned,

Virgin

By Analicia Sotelo
5
Rated by Emma F.
Jul 15, 2018

"We're all performing our bruises"

Staff Review Jul 13, 2018

In 78 short pages, Klein explains the challenges facing Puerto Ricans before, during, and after Hurricane Maria. We know from spotty news coverage that many are still without power and water, but Klein presents the even bigger threat posed by billionaires that want to turn Puerto Rico into a tax haven paradise. Complete with surfing and support from local government officials.

Staff Review
Red Land, Black Land

Red Land, Black Land

By Barbara Mertz
4
Rated by Sam S.
Jul 12, 2018

Red Land Black Land is a historical exploration of ancient Egyptian civilizations that discusses religion, rulers, and artifacts, but also focuses on the daily lives and experiences of ancient Egyptians – peasants and pharaohs alike. Some of the topics I found most interesting centered on the smaller details of life, like how people viewed pets, how clothing was made, what foods were popular, and what people did in their spare time. 

Staff Review Jul 11, 2018

In the introduction to Weaponized Lies, Levitin states, “Critical thinking doesn't mean we disparage everything; it means that we try to distinguish between claims with evidence and those without.” He goes on to explain that because we are constantly bombarded with information to the point of overload, we must do some research to uncover the facts. It can even be difficult to determine which sources are reliable. “Just because someone quotes you a statistic or shows you a graph, it doesn’t mean it’s relevant.”

Staff Review
image of armored anthropomorphic cat standing on a mountain

Cat Quest (PS4 Game)

By Gentlebros
4
Rated by Rachel C.
Jul 9, 2018

Sometimes you want to play a game that is deep and meaningful, with intricate gameplay and insight into human nature, that will draw you in for weeks on end.

Sometimes you just want some cute fluff you can knock out in a matter of hours.

This is definitely the latter.

Staff Review
Rebecca Schier-Akamelu

Music Writing Contest Winner

By Rebecca Schier-Akamelu
5
Rated by Helen H.
Jul 7, 2018

Johnson County Library and The Writers Place are pleased to announce that Rebecca Schier-Akamelu has won the short story category of our writing contest on the theme of MUSIC with "From One to the Next".

Rebecca writes from Overland Park and has previously been published in A Long Story Short and The Kansas City Star. She is also a voiceover artist and a proud wife and mom.

 

From One to the Next

Staff Review
Birds of the Photo Ark

Birds of the Photo Ark

By Joel Sartore
5
Rated by LeeAnn B.
Jul 5, 2018

Birds inhabit every corner of our planet and represent freedom to many people throughout the world.  In this impressive book, photographer Joel Sartore shares images of captive birds from his work with the National Geographic Society on the Photo Ark project—an undertaking to document every living species in the world’s wildlife sanctuaries and zoos.  His photographs inspire wonder as you flip through these pages.  The accompanying text by Noah Strycker offers fascinating information about the world of birds.  The diversity---10,500 species of birds at last count; the speed of some birds---

Staff Review
Book Cover

One of the Boys

By Daniel Magariel
5
Rated by Chris K.
Jul 3, 2018

Wow. This little book packs a punch. One of the Boys is short, quick reading, deceptively simple, and deeply affecting.

The twelve-year-old narrator has always revered his affable, charismatic father. After witnessing a "war" of separation and divorce, he desperately wants to be "one of the boys" with his dad and older brother when they decide to leave Kansas for New Mexico. He wants to be there to experience his dad's promised freedom to be like a kid again. So he does what it takes to make it happen.

Staff Review Jul 3, 2018

Hello and welcome to our new release roundup for the month of July! If this is your first time, we take a brief look at some of the well-reviewed titles that we either love or have heard great things about.

Pages