Staff Picks

Staff Review Jul 31, 2018

I absolutely love this book and consider it one of my "top 10" favorites! I did not expect to like it when a friend lent me her copy to read, but it blew me away. 

Teen Staff Review
Book cover

The 57 Bus

By Dashka Slater
5
Rated by Chris K.
Jul 23, 2018

What labels define you? Which boxes contain you? No middle ground. No grey. Keep it simple. Describe yourself with categories. Binaries. Either-ors. Extremes.

Once you tell me, do I know you?

Or do you want to say, "Wait, that's not really me. I'm much more complicated and nuanced than that. Those are mere ideas. I'm a person."?

Staff Review Jul 18, 2018

This isn't going to be a review, so much as an essay on my journey into the world of Dungeons & Dragons and general Role Playing Games (RPG) starting in my late 20's, so strap on your sword and buckler and get ready for an adventure!

 

Staff Review Jul 17, 2018

Before I say anything else, I just want to say, without qualifications, that I had a lot of fun playing this game.

Staff Review
Book Cover of Virgin by Analicia Sotelo is hot pink, with a woman with her back turned,

Virgin

By Analicia Sotelo
5
Rated by Emma F.
Jul 15, 2018

"We're all performing our bruises"

Staff Review Jul 13, 2018

In 78 short pages, Klein explains the challenges facing Puerto Ricans before, during, and after Hurricane Maria. We know from spotty news coverage that many are still without power and water, but Klein presents the even bigger threat posed by billionaires that want to turn Puerto Rico into a tax haven paradise. Complete with surfing and support from local government officials.

Staff Review
Red Land, Black Land

Red Land, Black Land

By Barbara Mertz
4
Rated by Sam S.
Jul 12, 2018

Red Land Black Land is a historical exploration of ancient Egyptian civilizations that discusses religion, rulers, and artifacts, but also focuses on the daily lives and experiences of ancient Egyptians – peasants and pharaohs alike. Some of the topics I found most interesting centered on the smaller details of life, like how people viewed pets, how clothing was made, what foods were popular, and what people did in their spare time. 

Staff Review Jul 11, 2018

In the introduction to Weaponized Lies, Levitin states, “Critical thinking doesn't mean we disparage everything; it means that we try to distinguish between claims with evidence and those without.” He goes on to explain that because we are constantly bombarded with information to the point of overload, we must do some research to uncover the facts. It can even be difficult to determine which sources are reliable. “Just because someone quotes you a statistic or shows you a graph, it doesn’t mean it’s relevant.”

Staff Review
image of armored anthropomorphic cat standing on a mountain

Cat Quest (PS4 Game)

By Gentlebros
4
Rated by Rachel C.
Jul 9, 2018

Sometimes you want to play a game that is deep and meaningful, with intricate gameplay and insight into human nature, that will draw you in for weeks on end.

Sometimes you just want some cute fluff you can knock out in a matter of hours.

This is definitely the latter.

Staff Review
Rebecca Schier-Akamelu

Music Writing Contest Winner

By Rebecca Schier-Akamelu
5
Rated by Helen H.
Jul 7, 2018

Johnson County Library and The Writers Place are pleased to announce that Rebecca Schier-Akamelu has won the short story category of our writing contest on the theme of MUSIC with "From One to the Next".

Rebecca writes from Overland Park and has previously been published in A Long Story Short and The Kansas City Star. She is also a voiceover artist and a proud wife and mom.

 

From One to the Next

Pages