Reviews

Staff Review

Three Women

By Lisa Taddeo
4
Rated by Lisa A.
Nov 4, 2019

I have feelings about this book. It’s graphic. Sometimes maybe too much so, though it bothers me I would say that. The subject is clear: female desire. But in truth, there’s nothing clear about desire. We want what we want—or don’t—for reasons we sometimes don’t know, for reasons that stem from harmful situations or events. I guess what I’m saying is that it’s complicated—desire is complicated, sex is complicated, and the implications of sex and how sex affects us throughout our lives is complicated.

Staff Review

The Assassins of Tamurin

By S. D. Tower
4
Rated by Anne G
Nov 1, 2019

     The Assassins of Tamurin is on my top ten favorite adult books for young adults list.  I read this Asian-influenced fantasy for the first time nearly 15 years ago, and I have probably read it at least that many times since.  The Canadian author made me fall in love with the characters, even the characters I think I hate.  Everyone in this fantasy fiction is detailed, alive, and real.

Staff Review

Resident Evil 2

By Capcom
5
Rated by Sam S.
Oct 31, 2019

Originally released in 1998, Resident Evil 2 quickly became a favorite among horror game fans and critics alike. This 2019 remake recreates the unique magic of the original while creating new conveniences and additional content for a new generation. The game is bigger, sleeker, and more frightening than ever. Play as either Leon Kennedy or Claire Redfield as they navigate the zombie infested Raccoon City and try to find the source of the outbreak.

Staff Review

The Secret History

By Donna Tartt
3
Rated by Megan K.
Oct 25, 2019

Donna Tartt  has been on my radar for quite awhile, and I finally picked up The Secret History at the recommendation of multiple coworkers. To be honest, I finished this novel over a week ago, and I am still unsure how I feel. I was unimpressed with much of the book, but something about it is still stuck in the back of my brain. The entire book is a psychological analysis of the six main characters before and after murdering their friend.

Teen Review

Just Ella

By Margaret Peterson Haddix
4
Rated by Anne G
Oct 21, 2019

                “Why did everyone like that story so much when it wasn’t true?  Why was everyone so eager to believe it?  Was it because, in real life, ever after’s generally stink?”

Staff Review

Hook: A Memoir

By Randall Horton
5
Rated by Lisa A.
Oct 18, 2019

“We script our lives on reaction rather than action, meaning daily life is always in response to, or a reply to, a command or demand. The world uses us in that way...The world does this--holds us down.”― Randall Horton, Hook: A Memoir

Staff Review

Waking Up

By Sam Harris
4
Rated by Michelle H.
Oct 16, 2019

Waking Up is a firsthand account of a scientist using his own mind to respond to the question, "what is the nature of awareness?"  It’s great reading, has lots of level headed advice, and looks squarely at a question with a bias against it so strong there isn’t another book out there like it. The subject of consciousness is usually handled in one of two ways, either with no use of the intellect or with a skepticism so strong exploration into the topic never even occurs.

Teen Review

Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women & Witchcraft

By Jessica Spotswood and Tess Sharpe
5
Rated by Hebah A.H.
Oct 14, 2019

It's that time of year where my reading generally turns to the spookier side, and there's no paranormal motif I love more than witchy women. Fiction has definitely seen an uptick in feminist reclamations of witchy tropes and depictions in recent years, and I am here for it.

Staff Review

A Hero Born

By Jin Yong
5
Rated by Andrew P
Oct 11, 2019

Touted as a Chinese Lord of the Rings, Jin Yong's A Hero Born, makes it's debut English translation. This story follows Guo Jing who was born during the Song empire. After his father, a Song Patriot, is murdered, he is taken up into the Mongolian steppes. There he is raised in Genghis Kahn's army before meeting The Seven Heroes of the South who tell him he is fated to fight in a competition to determine who is the greatest master.