Reviews

Staff Review
Cover of "Vampires of El Norte" by Isabel Cañas

Vampires of El Norte

By Isabel Cañas

Rated by Gregg W.
Dec 18, 2023

Hello and welcome to another edition of No Wait Wednesday, where we take a look at a book on a New Release shelf at one of our branch Libraries that's available right now for lucky patrons to check out. There's nothing quite as disappointing than hearing about a good book from someone and then discovering that you'll have to wait weeks before it is available from the library. It's far better to skip the lines and try something that's available now and ready to go for you to enjoy.

Staff Review
Cover of "An Inheritance of Magic" by Benedict Jacka

An Inheritance of Magic

By Benedict Jacka

Rated by Gregg W.
Dec 11, 2023

Hello and welcome to NoWaitWednesday, where we take a peek at a great book that's on the shelves at one of our local Library branches just waiting for a patron to come along and check it out. Why be number 342 in line for the newest celebrity-endorsed bestseller when there's all sorts of great new books available, on the shelf, right now?

Staff Review
Cover of "How To Be Rememebered" by Michael Thompson

How To Be Remembered

By Michael Thompson

Rated by Gregg W.
Dec 5, 2023

Hello and welcome to this week's edition of No Wait Wednesday, where we take a look at a title on our New Release shelves at one of our Libraries that's sitting there, just ready and waiting for a lucky patron to discover it. Today's book is How To Be Remembered by Michael Thompson, a thoughtful, heartwarming debut novel with magical elements that draws comparisons to last years' breakout hit The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E.

Staff Review
Cover of "Mickey Chambers Shakes It Up" by Charish Reid

Mickey Chambers Shakes It Up

By Charish Reid

Rated by Gregg W.
Nov 27, 2023

Hello and welcome to another edition of No Wait Wednesday, where we take a look at a title that's sitting on our New Release shelf just waiting on a lucky reader to check it out. (And the best part? Just like it says in the title: no waiting.) With the post-Thanksgiving season upon us and the days getting shorter and shorter, some of our patrons might need something bright, funny, and romantic to spice up those dark and chilly nights.

Staff Review
Cover of "Others Were Emeralds" by Lang Leav

Others Were Emeralds

By Lang Leav

Rated by Gregg W.
Nov 13, 2023

Hello and welcome to this week's edition of #NoWaitWednesday, where we look at a title on the New Release shelf at one of our Library branches that's just waiting for a lucky patron to check it out - all without worrying about a lengthy waiting list. 

Staff Review
Cover of Esme Cahill Fails Spectacularly by Marie Bostwick

Esme Cahill Fails Spectacularly

By Marie Bostwick

Rated by Gregg W.
Nov 6, 2023

Hello and welcome to #NoWaitWednesday, where we shine a spotlight on a book in the New Release section of one of our Library branches that's just sitting there ready for a lucky patron to check it out. Since we're getting deeper into November, some of you might be looking for a title that will bring some warmth into your lives, since the winter months are growing both shorter and darker.

Staff Review
Spooky Story Winner

Spooky Story Youth Contest Winner, Age 15 and Up: "How Easter Was Born"

By Melinda C.
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Heather M
Nov 6, 2023

"How Easter was Born"

Have you ever heard the tale of the Easter Bunny? 

Sure, you may think you have, that you’ve been hearing the same tale since childhood. The Easter Bunny is the one that comes and leaves little goodies in your yard, the one that brings children joy. 

But that tale is a lie. 

The true story is one that isn’t told often, one that might spoil Easter Day for you. 

Staff Review
Spooky Story Winner

Spooky Story Youth Contest Winner, Age 12-14: "Home"

By Shirley W.
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Heather M
Nov 6, 2023

A sigh left my lips as I kicked my feet softly against the sand. My chest constricted slightly at the sound of the waves crashing into the earth-thinking it was something else. 

I’ve always been paranoid about that type of stuff, always thinking a murderer will come out of nowhere and slaughter me. It’s very unlikely to happen obviously, I don’t know why it’s such a big fear.