Staff Picks

Staff Review May 15, 2019

Every January, new reading challenges float around the bookish realm of the internet.

Staff Review May 14, 2019

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases at the Johnson County Library! Each month we look at five fiction titles making their debut that we think you should know about. You might not find these books on the bestseller lists, but that's okay, as we love putting the spotlight on books you might not have heard about. Give one - or more - of these titles a chance to make it in your hold list. We hope you find something new!

Staff Review
child smiling

The Atonement Child

By Francine Rivers
4
Rated by Cheryl M.
May 13, 2019

The Atonement Child had me in its grips from the beginning and held me until the last word. The story centers around three women from the same family. Dynah Carey, a college student at a Christian university; her mother Hannah; and her grandmother, Eve. Dynah becomes pregnant through a rape and must decide if she will keep or terminate the pregnancy. As the novel progresses, each woman tells her unique story around the charged topic of abortion.

Staff Review May 11, 2019

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that David Lee Garrison has won the open category of our writing contest on the theme of BREAKING FREE with "Putting Killers Away".

Staff Review
Cover of Diane Setterfield's book Once Upon a River

Once Upon a River

By Diane Setterfield
5
Rated by Meghan F
May 10, 2019

Fairy tales are often dismissed as stories only for children, but I've never been able to stop reading them, even as an adult.  C.S.

Staff Review
Cover art

Before She Was Found

By Heather Gudenkauf
3
Rated by Heather C
May 8, 2019

Small town.  Urban Legends.  A gruesome stabbing.

Staff Review May 7, 2019

I am a mother. A working mother. A working mother who somehow scored the right blend of help, stubbornness, and luck to successfully breastfeed. As a working, breastfeeding mother I’ve spent a lot of time in Mother’s Rooms (which thankfully are becoming more prevalent) and as a working, breastfeeding, *librarian* mother, I’ve pondered the books I think should come standard with all Mother’s Rooms. The following is a list I am titling “My ideal Mother’s Room bookshelf.”

 

Staff Review
Karin L. Frank

Breaking Free Writing Contest Winner

By Karin L. Frank
5
Rated by Helen H.
Apr 29, 2019

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Karin L. Frank has won the essay category of our writing contest on the theme of BREAKING FREE with "Nearly Me".

Staff Review
Obituary Index logo - Easter lily on a green background

Research Tips: Obituary Index

By Amanda Wahlmeier
5
Rated by Manda W
Apr 15, 2019

Originally shared on the JoCo History blog.

The Obituary Index, maintained by the Johnson County Genealogical Society (JCGS), consistently tops the list of most visited JoCo History website collections. Upon first glance, the index can seem overwhelming, but once you learn how to use this tool, it can serve as a valuable resource in genealogical research.

Staff Review Apr 12, 2019

This spring, the Johnson County Library has been exploring the theme Breaking Free. While the library programs have been focusing primarily on food insecurity, this theme can be applied to many areas of life, such as generational stereotypes.

Pages