Staff Picks

Staff Review
Deerskin

Deerskin

By Robin McKinley
4
Rated by Anne G
Feb 21, 2020

     You know, sometimes you just need some escapist fantasy about self-discovery in women.  McKinley's seventeen-year-old girl Lissar was just the ticket for me last night. Deesrkin is a beautiful, haunting, and sometimes painful coming-of-age story that ends with a message of hope.  The first half of the fantasy fiction is really about the traumatic aftermath of a violent assault and rape by the heroine's own father.  These dark themes are handled appropriately, realistically, and with great compassion but they do mak

Staff Review
book cover of Relish

Relish

By Lucy Knisley
4
Rated by Hannah Jane C.
Feb 21, 2020

I am super late to the Lucy Knisley party and I'm a little perturbed with myself. I cannot believe I waited this long to read Relish. It has a lot of things I love about a good book: 

- memoir   
- lotsa foodie talk 
- incredible illustrations 
- stories about malicious birds.  

I was hooked by page 8 when Knisley talks about having poached salmon in cream for her baptism day. 

Staff Review
Red White and Royal Blue book cover featuring a pink color scheme

Red, White & Royal Blue

By Casey McQuiston
5
Rated by Stefanie E.
Feb 21, 2020

In the acknowledgements at the end of her book, Red, White & Royal Blue, Casey McQuiston writes, "What I hope to do, and what I hope I have done with this book by the time you've finished it, my dear reader, is to be a spark of joy and hope you needed." This is indeed exactly what reading this book did for me. 

Staff Review
A princess and a dragon drinking cider and reading a book together

Dealing With Dragons

By Wrede, Patricia
5
Rated by Anne G
Feb 21, 2020

"Well I'm not a proper princess then!" Cimorene snapped. "I make cherries jubilee and I volunteer for dragons, and I conjugate Latin verbs-- or at least I would if anyone would let me. So there!”

I have slowly been making my way through a long list of fantasy fiction books I have wanted to read or reread.  Dealing with Dragons is one of those re-read upbeat books; possibly it was “the” book that honestly got me hooked on reading. 

Staff Review
Elantris

Elantris

By Brandon Sanderson
4
Rated by Anne G
Feb 21, 2020

     I was a little worried when I started this fantasy fiction that I would not like it.  I did have a hard time getting into this, especially when it came to the bad religion. Elantris has several reviews out there that say it is Sanderson's worst work or that it is slow and rough and less polished than his other books, but I did not find that to be the case at all with this dramatic tone.  It is very slow and the main character is more of a politician than I am usually used to, although when court intrigue is so imp

Staff Review
Book cover of Persons Unknown

Persons Unknown

By Steiner, Susie
5
Rated by Kari E.
Feb 21, 2020

Persons Unknown is the second police procedural following Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw, following up Missing, Presumed. Manon's character is growing and changing throughout. She is five months pregnant at the start. And she has adopted Fly Dent, a quiet teenager whose family died in the previous book. Looking for a change of pace in their hectic life and a better quality of friends for Fly, they move from London to Cambridgeshire with Manon's sister, Ellie, and her toddler son, Solly.

Staff Review Feb 21, 2020

The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires begins with a normal description of the affluent life of a bored southern housewife.  Just before you think it is another dysfunctional family story, Patricia Campbell, one of our five book club members and main character, is attacked by an elderly neighbor while putting out the garbage at night. The elderly neighbor is put in the hospital, as is Patricia.  Then a handsome relative of the neighbor comes to stay at the house and help out.

Staff Review
The Secret Hour (Midnighters Book #1)

The Secret Hour

By Scott Westerfeld
4
Rated by Anne G
Feb 21, 2020

     The Secret Hour has a very imaginative paranormal premise, and it was enjoyable to read; I finished this book for reluctant readers in two sittings.  I love the idea of a hidden hour after midnight where only a select few can visit, and the continuing threads of mystery and “what’s going on?” kept me reading this urban fantasy.  The characters are not all best buddies, but are unique individuals with their own motivations which are shown in the fast pace.

Staff Review Feb 4, 2020

Hello and welcome to our look at some new releases in the fiction section at the Johnson County Library! Every month we look at five titles making their debut that we think you absolutely need to know about. Give one - or more - of these titles a chance to make it in your hold list. We hope you find something new!

 

Staff Review
White cover with eight blue doves, with title in black, block letters

American Dirt

By Cummins, Jeanine
5
Rated by Lisa H
Jan 23, 2020

Listed as one of the top 10 most anticipated books of 2020 by Goodreads members, American Dirt, by Jeanine Cummins tells the fictional story of Lydia and Luca, a mother and her young son, as they flee from Acapulco Mexico and attempt to cross the US border.

Pages