Reviews

Staff Review
The cover of "Yumi and the Nightmare Painter" by Brandon Sanderson features an illustrated image of a male and a female in a floating, dramatic pose.

Yumi and the Nightmare Painter

By Brandon Sanderson

Rated by Gregg W.
Feb 19, 2024

Hello and welcome to #NoWaitWednesday, where we take a peek at a great book on the New Release shelves at one of our local Library branches that's hot, fresh, and eagerly waiting for someone to take a chance on it. Normally in this space we tend to look at newer authors who are lurking just under the surface - their books might be well-reviewed, but at the same time aren't household names or endorsed by certain book group-loving celebrities and thus aren't a part of a massively long hold list.

Staff Review
Woman in green sweater smiling looking into camera

What Remains Unspoken Writing Contest

By Jamie Lynn Heller
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Helen H.
Feb 15, 2024

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Jamie Lynn Heller has won our writing contest on the theme What Remains Unspoken with her piece "What I meant when I said, 'I'll remember you'."

Jamie Lynn Heller’s book Buried in the Suburbs was published in 2018 (Woodley Press) and received the 2019 Kansas Notable Book Award. Her chapbook Domesticated : Poetry From Around the House was published in 2015 (Finishing Line Press). She has 90+ poems published in literary journals and magazines (for a complete list of publications see jamielynnheller.blogspot.com).

Staff Review
Album Cover

Signs of Life

By Neil Gaiman & FourPlay String Quartet
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Chris K.
Feb 14, 2024

I have to admit, I was skeptical. Gaiman has long been one of my favorite authors. And anyone who has listened to one of his audiobooks or readings will attest to his eloquence and oratorical skills. Still, an album of music? I worried he was stretching himself a step too far.

Staff Review
The book The Blue Monsoon on a shelf with other Library books

The Blue Monsoon

By Damyanti Biswas

Rated by Gregg W.
Feb 12, 2024

Hello and welcome to No Wait Wednesday, where we spotlight a book that's ready and waiting on our New Release shelves in search of that one special patron to take a chance on it. We know that patrons don't like waiting on the holds list for that new celebrity-endorsed book, but if you take a peek at our collection - or just ask your local librarian - there's always a new discovery in several different genres to enjoy.

Staff Review
Cover of "Still Born" by Guadalupe Netter, translated by Rosalind Harvey. The cover is an abstract pattern made up of reds and oranges.

Still Born

By Guadalupe Nettel, translated by Rosalind Harvey

Rated by Gregg W.
Feb 5, 2024

Hello and welcome to this week's No Wait Wednesday, where we take a look at an item on our New Release shelves at one of our local branch Libraries that's available to check out right now that deserves a second look - and sometimes a first one, too. Hundreds of new books come into the library each week, and it's impossible to keep an eye on everything. This is where your friendly neighborhood Johnson County Library staff comes in - we're always available to recommend a book (or a movie, or an audiobook, or a video game) that you might possibly love.

Staff Review
Cover of "Cleat Cute" by Meryl Wilsner. The cover is a hand-drawn image of two female soccer players in purple and yellow uniforms looking seductively at each other.

Cleat Cute

By Meryl Wilsner

Rated by Gregg W.
Jan 29, 2024

Hello and welcome to this week's edition of #NoWaitWednesday, where we spotlight a book that's available from the New Release section at on one of our Library branches. We know how much patrons dislike waiting in line for the hot new book that everyone and their book club are talking about. (Trust us - we hate it, too!) However, at the library there's ALWAYS plenty of options for those who want something good to read that's available right now.

Staff Review
The Cover of "The Roaring Days of Zora Lily" by Noelle Salazar

The Roaring Days of Zora Lily

By Noelle Salazar

Rated by Gregg W.
Jan 19, 2024

Hello and welcome to the latest edition of No Wait Wednesday, where we turn the spotlight on a book that's on the "New Release" section at one of our Library branches that we think absolutely deserves your attention. The best thing of all? There's no waitlist (at the moment!), so place your holds now!

Staff Review
Cover of Drawing Class - Animals

Drawing Class - Animals

By Heegyum Kim
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Charles H
Jan 17, 2024

January is national hobby month and the perfect time to try out something new! I enjoy plenty of hobbies, but I was feeling the itch to try some drawing, and a quick search through the library catalog revealed a number of options for a variety of skill levels. "Drawing Class - Animals" was one of the titles I grabbed and it seemed approachable.

Staff Review
Cover of "The Caretaker" by Ron Rash

The Caretaker

By Ron Rash

Rated by Gregg W.
Jan 8, 2024

Hello and welcome to the first No Wait Wednesday post of 2024, where we take a look at a book that's on the New Release shelf at one of our local Libraries that might deserve a bit of extra attention. Nobody likes to wait in line for something good to read, so if the hold list for the latest bestseller might seem a bit daunting, come on over and check out a great book that's right here, ready and waiting for you.

Staff Review
Dark-haired woman in a denim shirt looking at camera

Mind Changes Writing Contest

By Sharon Beck-Doran
Star Rating
★★★★★

Rated by Helen H.
Jan 5, 2024

Johnson County Library is pleased to announce that Sharon Beck-Doran has won our writing contest on the theme Mind Changes with her piece "Lights, Camera, Consent: How Women in Film Are Changing Our Minds About Sex."

Sharon Beck-Doran writes about faith and sexuality for her blog and podcast titled Relevant Faith Journey. She enjoys exploring ideas from a different perspective and invites her readers to join her in thinking deeper so that we might become better humans.