Staff Picks

Teen Staff Review

Liar

By Justine Larbalestier
4
Rated by Kate M.
Mar 3, 2010

Micah live in New York City and attends a fancy private school, she is on scholarship. She lives with her parents in a small apartment and she doesn't seem to have a lot of friends. The drama starts when a boy from school, Zach is found murdered in Central Park. Micah, who narrates the story, says she barely knew Zach, just had a few classes with him but as the story goes on it is uncovered that Micah and Zach were actually secretly dating, secretly because Zach was actually dating another girl.

Staff Review Feb 27, 2010

Five things I hate about Rick Moody:

1. His writerly tone can be absolutely obnoxious. I mean overbearing, arrogant, snotty, condescending, downright rude to the reader.

2. His world view is bleaker than mine, which makes me jealous.

3. Some of his characters are so repulsive that I wonder why I care about them ... and then I keep caring about them.

Staff Review Feb 26, 2010

Are you one of those people who has never seen When Harry Met Sally? If your answer is yes, I say what are you waiting for? They say that laughter is the best medicine, and this movie is worth a few laughs. Yes, it’s a chick flick about male/female relationships, but it pokes fun at both genders—in a good way! A collaborative effort by the hilariously talented duo Nora Ephron (writer) and Ron Reiner (director) during their marriage, this film presents many insights into the thoughts, feelings and behaviors that drive men and women either closer or further apart.

Staff Review Feb 26, 2010

Michael Crichton, one of my favorite authors, died in 2008. To pay homage to him, I decided to reread his first book (published under his real name), The Andromeda Strain. Written in 1969, I was afraid it would be very dated but to my surprise it wasn’t. The plot centers around a group of scientists investigating a downed satellite. The satellite crashes near the small town of Piedmont, Arizona.

Staff Review Feb 26, 2010

Elizabeth Reis, Associate Professor in the Women’s and Gender Studies Program and the History Department at the University of Oregon, shines a bright light into a dark alley in the history of American medicine.  The question for medical professionals: how to treat intersex patients, or, in other words, hermaphrodites—patients with ambiguous anatomic

Staff Review Feb 25, 2010


Staff Review Feb 23, 2010

The best category I can come up with for this book is: chick lit with dogs. The heroine, Dawn, on the rebound from a bad relationship, struggling with a second bad relationship and in the process of stumbling into a good relationship (finally!), discovers one day that she can understand the speech of dogs. This leads to interesting complications. Her dogs are hilarious, if somewhat foul-mouthed. And they may be good judges of character but their relationship advice is, as she discovers, often suspect. Dogs simply have different priorities than humans.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

When Fine bought his 41 acre ranch in New Mexico, he had four goals in mind. “1. Use a lot less oil 2.  Power my life by renewable energy 3. Eat as locally as possible 4. Don’t starve, electrocute myself, get eaten by the local mountain lions, get shot by my UN-fearing neighbors, or otherwise die in a way that would cause embarrassment if the obituary writer did his or her research.”

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

Micah Dalton is a cleaner. He “cleans up” other agent’s mistakes. When his mentor supposedly commits suicide, Micah investigates. It is non-stop action and intrigue in London, Italy and the U.S.A. as Micah hunts for the killer. What is different here is that Micah has the help of the victim as a re-appearing ghost, or is it a reaction to a psychotropic drug given to him by the killer? The reader is not sure and doesn’t care. What a fun read!

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

I went through a phase where I read nothing but Christian Chick Lit. I couldn't get enough of the pink covers with high heels and little dogs. My favorite has to be The Whitney Chronicles by Judy Baer. Whitney is the traditional 30-something protagonist looking for "Mr. Right" while trying to lose weight and gain a stronger prayer life.

Pages