Reviews

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

The Whitney Chronicles by Judy BaerI went through a phase where I read nothing but Christian Chick Lit. I couldn't get enough of the pink covers with high heels and little dogs. My favorite has to be The Whitney Chronicles by Judy Baer. Whitney is the traditional 30-something protagonist looking for "Mr.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

Beneath my mother’s feet   / Qamar, AmjedSet in Karachi, Pakistan, fourteen-year-old Nazia is enjoying school with her friends. After her father loses his job and his interest in working, Nazia's dowry is stolen and the family is evicted from their home . Nazia and her mother go to work as maids (masias) in order to support themselves and 2 younger siblings.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

A Woman of the World by Genie Chipps1942 couldn’t have been better and couldn’t have been worse for Kate Goodfellow. As a war correspondent for World magazine, Kate takes on the world both personally and professionally, capturing once in a lifetime moments in pictures. Never mind that it’s a world ruled by the likes of Otis Bennett, owner of World magazine, who would have her sidelined where it’s “safer for women”.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

Dog On It by Spencer QuinnDog On It: A Chet and Bernie Mystery by Spencer Quinn is narrated by Chet the dog, sometimes known as Chet the Jet. Chet and Bernie are partners in the Little Detective Agency. Both have less than stellar law enforcement careers.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

The Kissing Game by Suzanne BrockmannNeed something light and fun to listen to that makes your heart go pitter patter? Try Suzanne Brockmann's The Kissing Game, narrated by Donna Rawlings. The setting is a small town in the Florida Keys where Frankie Paresky, private investigator, is hired to find the heir to an inheritance.

Staff Review Feb 22, 2010

The Color Purple by Alice WalkerEver since the release of the movie Precious, with its six Academy Award nominations, the book it’s based on, Push by the author Sapphire, has become popular. I love underdogs. Any chance I get to wallow in another’s sorrow is one I rarely pass up.

Staff Review Feb 19, 2010

nullThis collection of 24 short stories is written by different authors to benefit the owners of Once Upon A Crime, a mystery book store located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. This book contains stories written by several award winning authors. I enjoyed the variety of mysteries which ranged from 5-25 pages in length. One of my favorite stories, Puck, is about a retired grifter couple living in the suburbs.

Staff Review Feb 19, 2010

The Forgotten GardenSpanning four generations and two continents, this is a captivating, atmospheric and very readable story that includes a foundling, an old book of dark fairy tales, a secret garden, a maze, an aristocratic family, a love denied and a mystery. Cassandra is 38 years old.