Staff Picks

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Louis Armstrong is an iconic figure in American popular culture and in jazz.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Two newly –wed Americans in their late 20s, Margaret and Patrick, find themselves in Africa in the late 70s, where Patrick, a medical doctor, is working a year in Kenya as part of his fellowship in equatorial medicine.  An adventure, climbing Mount Kenya with two other couples, takes a deadly turn, and deeply affects the relationship between Margaret and Patrick.  Anita Shreve fashions this almost autobiographical story (she lived in Kenya in the late 70s and climbed M

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Blue Heaven is what the locals call a rural area in Idaho where retired LAPD Blue Officers move when they retire. This gives residents a feeling of security and welcome income. But some of the former policemen are not are as noble and upright as they would have the local authorities believe. When two children are seen witnessing a murder, they run for their lives.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

I didn't check out this story collection until after Christmas but reading it out of season did not lessen my enjoyment. Great writers from Charles Dickens to Richard Ford are represented in this collection. There were a couple of stories that I had read previously - A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote and The Blue Carbuncle by Arthur Conan Doyle - but they are well worth reading again.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Generation Dead by Daniel Waters is another take on teen vampires. In this vampire tale, teens, and only some teens, who die are coming back as the living dead. These living dead teens have lost a lot of their previous personality and functionality however, in Oakvale; there is a significant number of "living impaired" or "differently biotic" teens attending Oakvale High.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

This book, Tana French's debut novel, is a mystery set in a suburb of Dublin, Ireland. Most of the story takes place in the present, but there are important references to an event that happened in August 1984. That 1984 event happened to the book's main character, Adam "Rob" Ryan, who is now a detective partnered with Cassie Maddox.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Superfreakonomics is the follow-up to Freakonomics by the same authors. I found this a lot of fun to read, because they present lots of quirky subjects. The authors present these things as facts, but how can you really be sure? This is their understanding and interpretation of how things work, how things come to be.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

This is a long fiction - 566 pages - which I don't usually do, but decided to take it on vacation. It was an Oprah selection and the bookjacket blurbs caught my interest. A dog story - the protagonist, Edgar, grows up on a dog breeding and training farm, so lots of info about that. Edgar also is born unable to speak, however, he can hear. He uses sign language and writing to communicate. There is conflict between his father and uncle.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

I gave this book 5 stars on my Goodreads account. Pete Dexter is a very funny writer. The opening scene of a botched burial at sea sets the stage. Even more wonderful is the character, Calmer who becomes Spooner's step-dad while Spooner is still a young boy.

Staff Review

Run For Your Life by James Patterson

By
0
Rated by Anonymous (not verified)
Jan 22, 2010

Let me introduce Run For Your Life by James Patterson, the second title in the Michael Bennett series.

Pages