Staff Picks

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

I didn't check out this story collection until after Christmas but reading it out of season did not lessen my enjoyment. Great writers from Charles Dickens to Richard Ford are represented in this collection. There were a couple of stories that I had read previously - A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote and The Blue Carbuncle by Arthur Conan Doyle - but they are well worth reading again.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Generation Dead by Daniel Waters is another take on teen vampires. In this vampire tale, teens, and only some teens, who die are coming back as the living dead. These living dead teens have lost a lot of their previous personality and functionality however, in Oakvale; there is a significant number of "living impaired" or "differently biotic" teens attending Oakvale High.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

This book, Tana French's debut novel, is a mystery set in a suburb of Dublin, Ireland. Most of the story takes place in the present, but there are important references to an event that happened in August 1984. That 1984 event happened to the book's main character, Adam "Rob" Ryan, who is now a detective partnered with Cassie Maddox.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

Superfreakonomics is the follow-up to Freakonomics by the same authors. I found this a lot of fun to read, because they present lots of quirky subjects. The authors present these things as facts, but how can you really be sure? This is their understanding and interpretation of how things work, how things come to be.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

This is a long fiction - 566 pages - which I don't usually do, but decided to take it on vacation. It was an Oprah selection and the bookjacket blurbs caught my interest. A dog story - the protagonist, Edgar, grows up on a dog breeding and training farm, so lots of info about that. Edgar also is born unable to speak, however, he can hear. He uses sign language and writing to communicate. There is conflict between his father and uncle.

Staff Review Jan 22, 2010

I gave this book 5 stars on my Goodreads account. Pete Dexter is a very funny writer. The opening scene of a botched burial at sea sets the stage. Even more wonderful is the character, Calmer who becomes Spooner's step-dad while Spooner is still a young boy.

Staff Review

Run For Your Life by James Patterson

By
0
Rated by Anonymous (not verified)
Jan 22, 2010

Let me introduce Run For Your Life by James Patterson, the second title in the Michael Bennett series.

Staff Review Jan 20, 2010

While searching for books about Kansas or by Kansas authors I stumbled upon The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas: Stories. It happens to come from the same brain that is behind Found, the website, magazine and book which are dedicated to discarded notes, letters, flyers, photos, lists, and drawings found and sent in by readers.

Staff Review Jan 20, 2010


Staff Review Jan 14, 2010

I’m generally a big fan of depressive ruminations, so you can imagine my dismay in discovering Nathan Rabin’s memoir The Big Rewind: A Memoir Brought to You by Pop Culture is funny and a fast read.

Pages