Staff Picks

Staff Review Aug 7, 2009

Staff Review Jul 30, 2009

The original Star Wars movie (the one where Han shot first) came out when I was 7 years old. It changed my life. I loved the movie like I loved few other things. I had Star Wars posters in my room. I reenacted scenes with my friends at school. I played with Star Wars action figures, renaming the characters and making up my own stories. But oddly, I didn't buy the Star Wars comics published by Marvel Comics.

Teen Staff Review
Romeo x Juliet

A Classic Tale Retold

By FUNimation Entertainment
4
Rated by Kate M.
Jul 28, 2009

For those of you who love ol' Billy Shakespeare but never could really get into the language check out the new anime Romeo X Juliet. A futuristic cross gender tale of undying love! Scene: Neo-Verona, sometime in the future Characters:

Teen Staff Review Jul 23, 2009

Ok. I admit it. I am addicted. I was pretty skeptical when ABC Family announced that they were going to make a TV show out of one of my favorite 90's movies. I was ready to hate it. I almost didn't watch the premier. But somehow I ended sitting in front of my TV at 7pm on July 7th tuning into ABC Family. And even more unbelievable is that I liked it!I was ready to hate all the characters. Who could play Kat better than Julia Stiles, who could be Patrick Verona except the talented Heath Ledger?

Staff Review Jul 22, 2009

Senna’s narrative is very much in the vein of Walls’ The Glass Castle or Bragg’s All Over But the Shoutin. It surpasses both for its examination, not only of Senna’s parents relationship, but for its exploration of identity today, yesterday and tomorrow.

Staff Review

Every Last Cuckoo

By Kate Maloy
4
Rated by Helen H.
Jul 18, 2009

According to Wikipedia, a “coming of age” story is one which details a young person's transition from adolescence to adulthood. This describes Every Last Cuckoo, except Sarah Lucas’ transition is one from a comfortable coupled existence as a mature woman to one in which she must make her own way. At seventy-five, Sarah’s husband of fifty years has died unexpectedly leaving Sarah and their two dogs alone in their rural Vermont home.

Staff Review Jul 2, 2009

Here’s a bizarre tale by “the godfather of Japanese manga comics”. Dr. Kirihito of M University Hospital takes a research trip to a remote village where a man with the mysterious Monmow disease has come from. While there, in addition to contracting the disease, he learns that the director has sabotaged his career and tried to kill him. Full of political maneuvering, love entanglements, and the threat of Monmow, this graphic novel’s got it all.

Teen Staff Review Jun 30, 2009

I was one of those kids who grew up with Transformers so I must admit that there is a soft spot in my heart for any of the Tranformers movies. I was a little anxious to see the latest installment because I heard some pretty bad reviews from fans but I did go pay my $10 (dang movies are expensive) to check it out this weekend. And I am glad I didn't listen! I thought it was an awesome action movie and not too shabby of a plot! I am a big action freak so I love even the worst action flicks but this one just had so much more.

Staff Review Jun 30, 2009

Why has Miles spent his entire life chasing after Hayden, his mentally ill twin? Each time he receives communication from Hayden, he packs his things and embarks on another wild goose chase in hopes of catching up with him.

Why don’t things don’t go as planned for George Orson and Lucy? When they leave Pompey, Ohio where George Orson taught high school English and Lucy was his student they have big plans to live in glamorous places. It doesn’t quite work out.

Why is Ryan on his way to the hospital with his severed hand in an ice cooler?

Staff Review Jun 30, 2009

Children of first generation Vietnamese immigrants, Van and Linny grew apart when their mother bought a house allowing them separate bedrooms. Once close, as adults they are now bound together only by their traditional father who has called them home to celebrate his finally having applied for U.S. citizenship.

Pages