The Gathering Storm by Robert Jordan/Brian Sanderson

May 26, 2010

gathering-storm.jpgAbout ten years ago around the holiday season, a paperback on sale in the bookstore, caught my attention. After reading the cover of The Eye of The World, I discovered it was the first book in a science fiction fantasy series, The Wheel Of Time. It was compared to Tolkien's The Lord Of The Rings. Since Tolkien is one of my favorite authors I thought I would give it a try. I was not disappointed. I could not put the book down and read into the wee hours of several nights until I finished it. Eagerly I sought the next novel in the sequel, never growing tired of the series. Robert Jordan’s character development for both men and women is fabulous. Among my most favorite characters is Matt, the gambler with incredible luck. The series details the lives of three young taveren who grow up in the same village and one day find themselves destined for adventures and romance as they set out to fight against evil and to save mankind. The Gathering Storm, the 12th book in the Wheel Of Time series, is the first of a three part ending. Robert Jordan died before he finished writing the ending. However, he left enough notes for his avid fan, a young science fiction writer, Brandon Sanderson, to finish the epic in the Jordan tradition. I am eagerly awaiting the last two books. This series has a marvelous man and wife narrating team if you enjoy audio books.

Written by Pat B.


Add new comment

Plain text

  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.