Obsession in Death

J. D. Robb
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
May 3, 2015

Obsession in Death is the 40th book in the In Death series by J. D. Robb, a.k.a Nora Roberts. When Naked in Death was first released in 1995, I bought it but I didn't read it. I also picked up the next four or five in the series, but I didn't read them either. I was, and still am, a huge Nora Roberts fan, but something about a futuristic mystery featuring a NYC detective just did not grab me. I don't know what finally made me pick up the books, but once I started reading them, I couldn't stop. 

Obsession in Death begins with Lieutenant Eve Dallas recovering from the Christmas holidays and her previous case (Festive in Death). What she hoped would be quiet week leading up to New Year's is interrupted by a serial killer with a fondness for Eve. The victims have all had altercations with Eve in the past and the killer is punishing them for that disrespect. Eve must discover the killer's identity before the obsession can turn to a close friend or family member.

What I enjoy most about the series, and this book especially, is the characters. When the series began, Eve was pretty much on her own. Now, in book 40, she has a husband, partner, cat, butler and friends. I love seeing the growth in Eve and the development of all the relationships.

If you enjoy the In Death series, you might also enjoy books from Tess Gerritsen, Julie GarwoodSuzanne Brockmann, or P.J. Tracy.

Written by Traci M.

Reading in the car makes me dizzy, but some books are worth it.