Shatter Me

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Tahereh Mafi
Mar 4, 2023

To say I loved this book would be such an under exaggeration. This book is
wild. It’s full of so many twists and turns, heartbreak, and characters you
would die for.

The main character in Shatter Me is Juliette Ferrars. No person can touch
Juliette. If you touch her, you die. This has left Juliette to a life of solitude and
loneliness. That is, until she meets Adam, who finds his way into her heart
throughout the story.

Juliette’s story is a gut-wrenching thrill. Throughout the story, she develops
as a character in many ways, internally and externally. She experiences love,
power, and true hatred. Juliette learns that trust is hard to give, and most of
the people in her world don’t deserve it.

"I have a curse.
I'm a monster.
My touch Is lethal.
I am their weapon.
— Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1))

This story has so many elements, it’s just so hard to describe. Shatter Me is a
thrilling book, and is very adventurous. The world of which Juliette lives in is
complicated and intertwined with many details, and the story line throughout
all of the books in the series relates back to each other. The Shatter Me series
is also romance novels, which adds a certain amount of dramatic effect that is
so important in this book, and it just completely brings everything together.

One thing that confused me when I first started reading Shatter Me was the
order of the books. So let me explain: the Shatter Me series is made up of the
main books, plus novellas between them. The novellas are basically shorter
stories from the other character’s perspectives. The main books in the series
are in this order: Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me, Restore Me, Defy Me,
and Imagine Me. The novellas are in this order: Destroy Me, Fracture Me,
Shadow Me, and Reveal Me.

When I first read the Shatter Me series, this is what I did: first, I read all of the
main Shatter Me novels in order. Then, I went back and read the novellas. I’m
glad that I did it this way, because while reading novels, everything was
placed perfectly in order without any confusion. However, the only drawback
was that when I then went back and read the novellas, every now and then I
was slightly confused on the exact point in the timeline. But I think that if I
had just read all of the novels and novellas in a row in their order throughout
the series, it would have thrown off the entire story for me, because the
novellas go back and tell the same parts of the story the main novels already
covered, just from a different character’s perspective.

"All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not
just with my hands but with my heart."
— Tahereh Mafi (Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1))

From what I’ve found, in most longer book series the books get more boring
as they continue. However, that is not the case with these books for me. I
really loved Ignite Me (the third book), something about it just really brought
out the characters. In the last few books, the storyline becomes slightly more
complex, but not in a crazy way. I really love that we can see the characters
developing throughout the series, changing in so many ways.

I’m telling you, these books will shock you. They’re so amazing, and are
always my first recommendation to people. The Shatter Me series is for
people who like fantasy, romance, and plot-twists that might rupture your
heart in shock.

Written by
Natalie M.

Browse by Tag