Teen and Staff Reviews

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The One

The One

By Kiera Cass
4
Rated by
Taylor E.
Jan 22, 2021

In ​The One​, the third book of ​The Selection ​series and the final installment of the original trilogy, Kiera Cass has managed to write a book that I loved and also frustrates me to my core. While The Elite​ frustrated me because of things that seemed meaningless, this book frustrated me because there was almost too much happening.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Elite

The Elite

By Kiera Cass
4
Rated by
Taylor E.
Jan 22, 2021

Kiera Cass’s second installment of ​The Selection ​series, ​The Elite​, was good, but it wasn't as good as its predecessor. In this book, America struggles to decide between Maxon and Aspen as the Selection is narrowed down to six girls. Overall, this book was super frustrating.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Selection

The Selection

By Kiera Cass
4
Rated by
Taylor E.
Jan 21, 2021

The Selection​ by Kiera Cass is a dystopian fantasy novel that follows America Singer as she is put into the Selection, a contest of 35 girls competing for the prince’s heart. I have been putting off reading this book for a long time because of its heavily mixed reviews, but I’m happy to say that I was not disappointed.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book I Killed Zoe Spanos

I Killed Zoe Spanos

By Kit Frick
5
Rated by
Neha K.
Jan 20, 2021

I Killed Zoe Spanos is a thrilling book by Kit Frick that leaves you on the edge of your seat with an intricate plot.  In this book, our main character, Anna Cicconi, takes a summer nanny job in a wealthy neighborhood. Little does she know, Anna looks eerily similar to Zoe Spanos, who has disappeared since New Year’s Eve. As she gets sucked into the mystery, Anna is convinced she is somehow related to Zoe Spanos. Three months into the job, Anna turns herself in after Zoe’s body is found.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book Monster

Monster

By Walter Dean Myers
5
Rated by
Johanna W.
Jan 19, 2021

This coming-of-age novel is about Steve Harmon, a sixteen-year-old teenager, who is on trial for allegedly murdering a drugstore owner during a failed robbery. He challenges the assumption that he must be a ​Monster​ because he is an African-American male on trial for murder. In order to cope and redefine his identity, he distances himself from others and journals his experiences in the form of a screenplay.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves

By Roshani Chokshi
4
Rated by
Delaney M.
Jan 18, 2021

The Gilded Wolves​ by Roshani Chokshi is the story of a unique and talented group of teenagers and the eclectic leader who holds them together. The characters are already a seasoned group of treasure hunters by the time the story begins, but the mission that the book sends them on is an important one. The acquisition of this ancient artifact has the power to alter each of their individual lives for the better.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

By Suzanne Collins
4
Rated by
Zachary D.
Jan 17, 2021

The book follows the life of 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives in poverty in a dystopian country called Panem, governed by the rich and cruel Capitol. She, along with a boy Peeta whom she kind of knows, is selected to compete in the Hunger Games, a life-or-death battle between twenty-three other teenagers where only one can survive. Katniss must balance surviving the Games and determining the seemingly endless limits of the Capitol’s cruelty, all while maintaining a relationship with Peeta that may or may not even exist.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Always and Forever, Lara Jean

By Jenny Han
4
Rated by
Taylor E.
Jan 16, 2021

Always and Forever, Lara Jean​, Jenny Han’s final novel in her ​To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy, provided the perfect ending to the series; however, it still lacked compared to the first book. In this book, Lara Jean and Peter deal with the prospect of college and all that comes with it, especially being in a long-distance relationship and having different schedules.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Story of Arthur Truluv

The Story of Arthur Truluv

By Elizabeth Berg
5
Rated by
Miranda H.
Jan 15, 2021

Elizabeth Berg’s The Story of Arthur Truluv (2017) is a realistic fiction novel telling the interweaving stories of Maddy Harris, Arthur “Truluv” Moses, and Lucille Howard. One day, while Maddy is visiting the cemetery to escape her school lunchroom, she runs into Arthur, who is visiting his wife’s grave; they become fast friends and join forces to combat their loneliness –Maddy’s from the estrangement of her father and boyfriend and Arthur’s from the death of his wife.

Teen Review
Cover photo of the book The Battle for Room 314

The Battle for Room 314

By Ed Boland
5
Rated by
Miranda H.
Jan 14, 2021

The Battle for Room 314 by Ed Boland, published in 2016, tells the compelling story of his year teaching in an inner-city high school in New York City. As a young man, Boland worked for Project Advance, a non-profit working to place low-income, inner-city students in elite boarding schools and eventually Ivy League universities; however, he begins to feel unfulfilled and wants to widen his impact to help more deserving students.

Browse by Tag