Erak's Ransom

Erak's Ransom by John Flanagan
John Flanagan
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Feb 19, 2023

In this seventh iteration of the twelve books in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, you get front-row
seating to the telling of a story that should have been told two books ago and the inspiration of
which most likely came from a small mark on Horace’s face. In this book, you are introduced to
the desert lands of Arrida and its exotic citizens such as Selethen who is really just Erak of the
desert if Erak was thin, lived in the desert, and was graceful. In this story, you get to see the final
spurts of Horace’s, Evanlyn’s (sorry, Cassandra, my bad), and Will’s journey into adulthood. It
is a touching story in which the characters (especially Halt) learn a little and gain a lot in the
form of new friends. You don’t want to miss this telling of the tale where Halt finally accepts
that he’ll have to let Will go and Will learns that you should never let go of a horse in a
sandstorm (who would’ve guessed?). I would strongly recommend this book just as I would
recommend any of the other Ranger Apprentice books. Just... read it in the right order. It’s easy:
1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 12, and sprinkle some 11 in where you can find the space. But do it.
Read it. Like a normal person.


Written by

Browse by Tag