Catching Fire

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins
Star Rating
Reviewer's Rating
Apr 21, 2023

Catching Fire is the second book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. In this novel, Katniss Everdeen continues in her battle for survival in the post-apocalyptic world and tyrannical rule of Panem’s Capitol. Katniss and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark have just won the 74th Hunger Games, defiantly and in their own way, angering the Capital and sparking acts of rebellion in several Districts. Believing they and their families are now safe due to their win, they are instead informed they will compete again in the 75th Hunger Games, or the Quarter Quell, which occurs every 25 years. In this game, participants are not chosen from the adolescent population of the Districts but rather selected from the pool of previous winners. Once again, Katniss and Peeta must fight for their lives in the harsh conditions of the arena, forming alliances and determining who must fall to achieve their goal of surviving to win. Her prior win and outcomes during her competition in the Quarter Quell transition her into a symbol of hope for the downtrodden Districts, further alienating President Snow and the Capital. Collins again provides a fast-paced, gripping, and suspenseful story with compelling and robust characters navigating unpredictable plot twists. She immerses the reader in the Panem world, with the themes of oppression and rebellion, sacrifice, and survival explored. Catching Fire is well worth the read, and in my opinion, surpasses the outstanding first novel of the series. The novel leaves readers highly anticipating the continuation of Katniss’ story in the third book of the series. Fans of dystopian, science fiction, young adult, action-adventure and urban fantasy tales will not be disappointed.

Written by
Helton W.

Browse by Tag