Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Maggie Stiefvater
Sep 20, 2015

In The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves readers were introduced to four wealthy boys of Aglionby Academy: Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah. And to Blue Sargent, an eccentric teen raised by a family of psychics who have predicted that Blue's true love will die if she ever finds and kisses him. Despite the differences in their socioeconomic backgrounds the five become comrades in the search for the elusive sleeping King of Wales, Owen Glendower, around the ley lines of their small town, Henrietta, Virginia. So far we have seen them tackle ghosts, dream manifestations that become real, and confront real life assassins. And that is just the beginning. 

If, like me, you thought that reading book three of Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle would be a simple confirmation that you knew where the storyline was going….hold everything, because this read is anything but predictable!  Blue Lily, Lily Blue picks up shortly after The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, book two) and follows Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam and Noah as they continue their search for the lost Welsh King, as well as Maura, Blue’s mother, who has disappeared. Along with Mr. Gray and Blue's family of psychics, the group of teens begin to unravel further mysteries regarding the legend of Glendower and it looks like there may be more than one "sleeping" ancient underground. While not as action packed as the first two, Blue Lily, Blue Lily delivers more in character development and interaction. By the time you read the last sentence you'll be clamoring for the final book in the Raven Cycle. Unfortunately, The Raven King isn't set to be published until February 2016!

Reviewed by Library Staff

Browse by Tag