Reviews

Teen Review Jun 30, 2009

I was one of those kids who grew up with Transformers so I must admit that there is a soft spot in my heart for any of the Tranformers movies. I was a little anxious to see the latest installment because I heard some pretty bad reviews from fans but I did go pay my $10 (dang movies are expensive) to check it out this weekend. And I am glad I didn't listen! I thought it was an awesome action movie and not too shabby of a plot! I am a big action freak so I love even the worst action flicks but this one just had so much more.

Staff Review Jun 30, 2009

Why has Miles spent his entire life chasing after Hayden, his mentally ill twin? Each time he receives communication from Hayden, he packs his things and embarks on another wild goose chase in hopes of catching up with him.

Why don’t things don’t go as planned for George Orson and Lucy? When they leave Pompey, Ohio where George Orson taught high school English and Lucy was his student they have big plans to live in glamorous places. It doesn’t quite work out.

Why is Ryan on his way to the hospital with his severed hand in an ice cooler?

Staff Review Jun 30, 2009

Children of first generation Vietnamese immigrants, Van and Linny grew apart when their mother bought a house allowing them separate bedrooms. Once close, as adults they are now bound together only by their traditional father who has called them home to celebrate his finally having applied for U.S. citizenship.

Staff Review Jun 25, 2009

Diana Campanella is coasting through life. She’s left the security of a steady job and purchased “Second Time Around”, a high-end second hand clothing store. She’s terminally engaged to a politically connected lawyer from an important Washington D.C. family. As the shop fails to gain new business and a wedding date remains undeclared, Diana grows more and more discontent. Harry blows into Diana’s life like a breath of fresh air and provides just the catalyst needed to set changes for Diana in motion.

Staff Review Jun 24, 2009

The premise behind Water with Lemon is that it is a diet book told in the format of a novel. I appreciate the concept and can even say the story line had the potential to be very engaging. In a novel, however, I need a little more character development and a little less beating over the head with diet habits.

Staff Review Jun 24, 2009

Alford’s exploration of what constitutes wisdom and where it comes from read a little more lightly than I would have expected. While Alford has done his research and shares many of the gems he has gleaned from his reading, I didn’t feel enlightened. His experiences during his mother’s divorce and his interviews with the elderly are entertaining, but they impart no wisdom in the end.

Staff Review Jun 24, 2009

Dedicated to editor Hornby's son Danny, $2 of the cover price of this collection will be donated to Treehouse, a school for autistic children. Hornby’s explanation of why this collection came about in the introduction is in itself a heart-felt piece of writing. And then he's topped it with NippleJesus, a story about a nightclub bouncer turned art gallery security guard and his reactions to a controversial work called NippleJesus.

Teen Review

The Hunger Games

By Suzanne Collins
5
Rated by Kate M.
Jun 16, 2009

The Hunger Games is the story of North America after an apocalyptic war has broken out. Now the continent is made up of 12 districts, ruled over by a wealthy capitol city. Each year, to remind the districts of their loss in the war and how powerless they are, the Capitol chooses two teenagers from each district to participate in a reality TV show. The participants, called tributes are chosen at random from a lottery, one boy and one girl.

Teen Review May 15, 2009

One of my favorite books is being made into a movie, it is just one of those books that as you are reading you are selecting cast members in your head. I Love You, Beth Cooper is the story of one teen's experiences at the end of high school. Denis Cooverman has always been a geek. For as long as he can remember he has been the butt of every joke, getting swirlies in between classes and practical jokes played on him ever day.