Bookmark Contest Winners

The Friends of Johnson County Library are pleased to name Tess Boyer,  Margaret Drumm,  Hunter Everett,  Cecilia Grahek,  Adalyn Long,  Vivian Mahaffie,  Hannah Markiewiez,  Ellis Nohe,  Toshani Pippalapalli,  Jillian Reuter,  Derin Serbetcioglu,  Audrey Vietti,  Olivia Wang and  Jessica Ward as Winners in the 2020 Bookmark Design Contest.

When the libraries are open again, the winning bookmarks will be printed and available for distribution to Library users at the 14 library locations.

The annual competition is generously supported by the Friends of Johnson County Library. This year, the contest accepted more than 400 original illustrations in seven age categories from Preschool to Adult. Accepted media are colored pencil; marker; crayon; gouache; tempera; oil; acrylic; finger-paint; chalk; watercolor; pen-and-ink; on paper only. Designs, drawings and images must be made by hand only, and the original art must be submitted.

“They’re so wonderful,” exclaims Friends president Jennifer Curtiss, “and I collect a new set every year. They’re a great way to get creative people of all ages interested in our excellent Library system.”