Friends of the Library Bookmark Contest Winners

The Friends of Johnson County Library are celebrating National Friends of Libraries Week (Oct. 17 - 23) by presenting the winners of the annual Bookmark Contest! The winning illustrations will be printed as bookmarks and distributed during the year at the 14 branches of the Johnson County Library and at the Friends bookstores and sales.

“They’re so wonderful,” exclaims Friends president Jeanie Botkin, “and I collect a new set every year. They’re a great way to get creative people of all ages interested in our excellent Library system.”

The annual competition is generously supported by the Friends of Johnson County Library. This year, the contest accepted more than 250 original illustrations in seven age categories from Preschool to Adult. Jurors for the event included Friends of Johnson County Library board members and Johnson County Library Youth Service Librarians. More than 6000 bookmarks will find homes between pages by this time next year.


Kindergarten and Pre-K:                                                                                                                      

Halley Harrison, Homeschool                                              

Freya Webster, Mill Creek Elementary School                     

Grades 1 + 2

Dhruvin Vaidya, Valley Park Elementary School

Marin Hannaman, Westwood View Elementary School

Grades 3 + 4

Olive Langford, Mill Creek Elementary School

Bennett Barnes, Madison Place Elementary School

Grades 5 + 6

Annique Gras, Rising Star Elementary School

Rachel Pishny, Aubrey Bend Middle School

Zaylen Costlow, Wellsville Middle School

Grades 7 + 8

Siena Roper, Mill Creek Elementary School

Gia Ange, Horizon Academy

Grades 9 – 12

Yliana Piggee, Gardner Edgerton High School

Zahra Mirza, Blue Valley North High School


Emma Tattershall, Spring Hill, KS

Will Jones, Greenwood, Indiana – our first-ever interstate winner!